Show Your Wings Blog Hop!

show your wings logo200650601698706995..jpg

I just love a good blog hop and Miss Carol from Just Let Me Quilt always hosts a lovely one!  As I mentioned last time, I’m sailing through this year on the USS Frankenbatt (USS stands for UFO’s, Stash and Scraps.  I’m even trying to embrace a “fabric diet”.  All of this is to give me a chance at the studio of my dreams…I already have the space, I just need to “sew it clean” a bit.  (Well, a really big bit, like a couple hundred quilts worth is my guess but…ok, just stop snickering…a girl can dream!)

So when Carol mentioned flying geese, I immediately thought of these geese leftover from a project from, um, well, more than a decade ago.

20190121_1042215405381194714691010.jpg

A I mentioned, I’m very fond of both my stash and my UFO’s and since I suffer from abnormally high levels of optimism, I really believe that someday I can finish all of them! (Don’t bother trying to rain on my parade…as I stated before, I really have very abnormally high levels of optimism.)

So, I decided to give these little guys a permanent home and went searching for some compatible fabrics. I ended up with this one for the star centers…it’s kitschy and vintage-y and it’s not my normal style but I had two fat quarters and that was just enough!

20190220_0701087112416501764410040.jpg

I had quite the audition session for pinks that would work and one of these is actually the back of the fabric.  Sandy Ray used to say, “You pay for both sides of your fabric so you get to use both sides.”  I decided to cap the number of star blocks at twelve and let the rest of the geese play in the border.

I didn’t get time to quilt this one because I want to play with my new ruler and maybe some feathers in the border but here’s my finished top…successfully moved from the parts department to the tops department!

20190218_1213135869678006969283498.jpg

I love the soft, springy colors.  I have no idea where this one will go but I think I may keep it for me!

Be sure to check out all my feathered friends today!  Lots of great inspiration around and it’s sure to raise your spirits!

Happy quilting!

Beth

February 21

Just Let Me Quilt

Sew Incredibly Crazy

Sew Fresh Quilts

Quilt Fabrication

Words & Stitches

All Thingz Sewn

Kathy’s Quilts

For The Love Of Geese

Two Maker Chicks

madeNcorrea
That Fabric Feeling

 

And, just because I can’t help myself…here’s a cute picture of Gizmo to brighten your day!

20190114_1804594081763889194082967.jpg

25 responses to “Show Your Wings Blog Hop!

  1. Well done. I loved how your project turned out. Plus it is bonus those flying geese blocks got a home.

  2. Brighten my day he does but not as much as your quilt top. Great job using up all of those pieces from the past. Love the idea of using fabric backs. I have done that in the past. Once in awhile even on purpose ;-}

  3. my new favourite quotable quote! I paid for the back, I get to use it. Love it! And your optimism. You will go far when you believe you can. Congrats on your top finish. 🙂

  4. Your quilt is beautiful. I really like the flying geese in the border.

  5. Melissa Reynolds

    I’m afflicted with the same “disease” you have ! I just used some fabric I’ve had for a couple of decades to make the cutest baby quilt. It matched perfectly! I, too, think I can finish way more than I actually have time for and need to go on a fabric diet. It’s so hard though when there is so much inspiration! Keep on sewing!!

  6. Nicely done! Your using up some pieces makes me feel good as well (one for all and all for one!). Really like those geese in the border too. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Very nicely done – love it!

  8. Cute cat. I hope you get the quilt quilted. It’s lovely and a great finish for your UFO.

  9. Congrats on the lovely top finish!

  10. Hi Beth and Gizmo! What a sweet picture to end the post!! I love how you brought these geese to good form and use. The soft colors do remind me of Spring, that is most notably only 27 days away. Carry on on the USS – a very worthy focus for the year! ~smile~ Roseanne

  11. I’m totally laughing at your “abnormally high level of optimism.” I never thought of it, but as a lady with a big stash of fabric, I must have that abnormal optimism, too! LOL I love that you were able to pull from your UFO’s to create this pretty quilt. It just screams, “SPRING” or “EASTER”! Thank you for sharing and hopping with us…it’s always a delight!

  12. I’m laughing my head off here. I need to jump on that USS Frankenbatt ship with you! Great post and a fabulous finish there girl! I love how your ship has different departments too. Parts, tops…I hope there’s a quilted bound and done department on the ship somewhere too! Maybe a little someone in the background doing all the work for us????? LOL! Thanks for making my day.

  13. Gizmo is so sweet. Just like my Shadow kitty who needs to be in the middle of all the fabric goodness. Actually, I pull out a bit of fabrics just for him when i quilt/sew. Ohh, your blocks and quilt top is wonderful. so soft and pretty. thanks for sharing and inspiring. quilting dash lady at comcast dot net

  14. What was it you said about your studio? You need to “sew it clean”. We must be twins! I need to do the same thing.
    Good for you, sewing up a UFO for the Show Your Wings Blog Hop!! Wishing you SEW many more adventures on the USS Frankenbatt.

  15. You are so funny, I loved this post. And your quilt is lovely.

  16. I like that “successfully moved from the parts department to the tops department,” I’m going to have to use that one ~
    I don’t think I suffer from abnormally high levels of optimism since I keep giving away projects and fabric. I keep buying fabric too (of course, don’t we all?) with finding a retro camping themed remnant from 2000.

  17. Gizmo and your pretty quilt have brightened my day. I love to see a UFO take wing! I need to share some of your optimism with my own UFOs. Thank you for sharing in the hop … 🙂 Pat

  18. thatfabricfeelingcom

    That’s a lovely quilt and would be great for a baby as well. Gizmo is so adorable. I grew up being a huge cat lover but my hubby doesn’t like them, so we have a dog instead. I love seeing those bumper stickers, “my hubby said it’s him or the cat…gee i’m really going to miss him.” But I wouldn’t bring a cat home now with our kids having allergies. Still, if a stray wandered into our backyard perhaps…… Thank you for sharing a sweet quilt finish. Well done on the flying geese. I keep trying to stop buying fabric but i have no willpower…good for you with yours!

  19. Thank You for Hopping and sharing your Wings. Gizmo is very sweet.

  20. Gorgeous top Beth and the fabrics are so beautiful! I really love the soft colors. Thank you for sharing. (I loved reading your post, too)

  21. Wow, your UFOs make a beautiful quilt when pulled together. You can conquer the world, this I am sure with that optimism. Your quilt will be a beautiful finish.

  22. I love the FG in the border. Nice touch! Thanks for sharing.

  23. Awesome project! You just may finish all your projects plus some, one day! I believe in optimism as well! Enjoy your weekend! 🙂 angielovesgary2 atgmail dotcom

Leave a comment