Project Quilting 15.4 -Hourglass

This week’s prompt was the hourglass…block, shape or other interpretation.   This was an easy one for me. I love hourglass blocks.   The accuquilt makes it so fast and easy to cut the 1/4-square triangles I need for the blocks. 

I had a need for a doll quilt to gift to a new big sister.  I decided to go with colors that matched the baby quilt.   I used the Accuquilt to cut a fast bunch of triangles. They went together so quickly!  I shrunk down the quilting design I used on the baby quilt, too.   I’m loving this butterfly and loops.

Here’s the hourglass quilt which measures 18×24 inches.

Here it is next to the baby quilt…

And here it is on the doll bed.  I used a Riley Blake stripe for the mattress and pillow and then made a little pillow case to match the quilt.  I’m hoping it will be a favorite nap spot for a beloved doll or stuffy.

I was hoping that Gizmo would give it a trial nap but no such luck.  He did,  however,  take a lovely nap on both quilts as I put on the bindings.

Here’s a closeup of the quilting.

Thanks again,  to Kim and Trisha for a fun challenge week!

Happy quilting,

Beth

4 responses to “Project Quilting 15.4 -Hourglass

  1. Hi Beth! Your Hourglass project turned out just fabulous. I love the fabrics you chose and the quilting looks just perfect. Great job. {{Hugs}} ~smile~ Roseanne

  2. A beautiful doll quilt indeed! It looks so cute on the doll bed.

  3. awww! it’s perfect! What a sweet gift 😉

  4. bewtjwgmailcom

    beautiful quilting

Leave a comment