Progress, Finishes, and Such

Well, life was supposed to slow down after Christmas but, you know, I’ve not seen that happen quite yet!  I did get to indulge in a couple nice sewing sessions and finished my first finish in the Lovely Year of Finishes 2015!  I used these fabrics

wpid-ncm_0068.jpg

And a little bit of neutral from my stash and some leftover binding from my binding container and made this for my guild’s charity group.

IMG_1930

I just love it!  So fun and cheery.  The blocks are just four patches made with 2″ strips.  Now, my only dilemma is how to count this for my blocks in the year.  Technically, I made 6 blocks in the center and another 48 for the border but that seems like giving myself a tad too much credit.  I was thinking of writing a tutorial for this quilt but then I realized that Wedding Dress Blue already has a nice one for a very similar block here although hers uses a charm pack and 1/2-square triangles for geese…I don’t usually do my geese units that way, I prefer triangles and my easy angle rulers.  Let me know if you think there is enough interest for a tutorial.  I still need to do one for the coasters.

My other finish was finishing the quilting and binding on one of the charity quilts my daughter was making.  (She was originally working on her silver award for Girl Scouts but decided not to continue in Scouts although she did finish the project.)  She let my daycare kids design the quilts then she helped them sew them and I helped with quilting and binding.  Here she is with the stack and the most recent one is on the top.  It’s just squares but fun and warm!  She got quite a nice shout out from the Pine Needle on their facebook page here.

IMG_1928

I’d been making these quilts for some time before my younger daughter arrived in my life and she arrived with a Project Linus blanket from her hospital stay.  Now, she’s come full circle from recipient to quilter.

As for my theme of the year “cleaning up my messes,”  I started quite literally with a big mess this week…my downstairs sewing area.  Here’s the before picture

wpid-ncm_0079.jpg

Here’s the after

wpid-ncm_0083.jpg

Here’s the pile of “to be sorted”

wpid-ncm_0081.jpg

And here it is as I keep whittling away at it each day (I’ve cut through almost an entire grocery bag of scraps!)

wpid-ncm_0084.jpg

I’ve also made a few star blocks using my scrap triangle drawer…Bonnie Hunter says that when a drawer is full, you have to make a quilt so I’m making  wonky stars in a variety of sizes with my odd triangle drawer.  The larger stars are 7.5″ and are using up an odd stack of 3×3.5″ white and beige rectangles I found while cleaning.  I have to keep remembering to make one set of points “squatter” than the other so I don’t trim off any points!  I expect to end up with quite a few of the small ones as every quilt I make binding for creates a bunch of triangles where I join the seams.

wpid-ncm_0091.jpg

So that puts me at 58 blocks and two finishes for 2014 so far…imagine if I could keep up that pace.  I might sew my way to a clean studio!  (Ok, a girl can dream, right?)

Happy quilting!

One response to “Progress, Finishes, and Such

  1. You are accomplishing a lot! Your Spangle-ish quilt looks particularly nice. I really like the borders. Well done.

Leave a Reply

