A Star is Born!

It’s my day on the Be a Diamond blog hop hosted by Just Let Me Quilt. Huge thanks to Carol who keeps letting me play along!I’ve been working on UFOs this year and I knew I had a Lone Star that only lacked a couple of setting pieces and some borders. It was a really good plan – stick and easy. Except I can’t find that project! So, I went with a backup UFO, a second Lone Star that wasn’t nearly as far along. It was here..And when the diamonds were done, there was some serious auditions for background.The black won and I stayed up way past bedtime to get this together.It’s an awful photo and I’ll replace it in the morningbut be sure to hop over to my other friends and see their diamond delights. Mine may be a bit of a diamond in the rough but I’m excited to have brought it this close to being a top!

Today – April 23

35 responses to “A Star is Born!

  1. That is one gorgeous quilt! I love theLonestar pattern. Now I might just have to do another after seeing yours. I seem to make them once every two years. A color palette just popped in my head after seeing yours and the fabrics are already in my stash!

  2. Beautiful.Love your fabric combo.

  3. Beautiful.Love your fabric combo.!

  4. Wow love the colors gl it’s looking good from here…ty for sharing… happyness04431@yahoo.com

  5. Wow that’s impressive! Love your color choices.

  6. You did a great job on this piece!

  7. Love the colours and glad you used the black background.

  8. Great quilt.

  9. Terrific! And while I’m sure it would have been nice to get that first Lone Star finished, now this less progressed UFO is nearly done too. 🙂

  10. You have done a great work on this quilt. Thanks for sharing

  11. It’s the most beautiful diamond in the rough I’ve seen…wow! It is amazing with all those diamonds and black was a great background choice. Thanks for hopping with us and sharing your diamonds!

  12. Your quilt is great! I love the colors. And, while I originally thought one of the blues would be good. . .I definitely think that the black was the best choice; it makes the star just glow.

    Looking forward to seeing it completed.

    Thank you for sharing.

  13. Wow that is a hard project! it’s on my lifetime to do list but all those bias edges… ugh! It was fun to see the auditions! Congrats on the finish!

  14. Angela J Short

    Beautiful quilt! Enjoy your day!! 🙂 🙂 angielovesgary2 atgmail dotcom

  15. Beautiful. The background really makes everything pop.

  16. I have wanted to make a Lone Star quilt for a long time, but never got around to doing one. Your quilt is an inspiration. It’s gorgeous!

  17. Beautiful quilt, the black background sets it off. Thanks for sharing!

  18. I love this quilt. I’m glad you put it on black, it really makes that yellow shine like a giant sunflower. This pattern is on my quilt bucket list. Thank you for sharing yours.

  19. Pretty lone star quilt!! I love that you chose the black for the background!

  20. I was hoping there would be a bunch of Lone Star quilts on this Blog Hop. I absolutely love them! I love your choice of black background to show off your lovely star.

  21. Very lovely indeed!

  22. davemelvanolan

    I love that you drew from your UFOs. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  23. The black was the perfect choice. I have always loved that pattern and yours turned out beautifully.

  24. Love the colors on your lone star quilt. The black sets off the warm golden colors very nicely. Thank you for sharing your audition process for the background. LOL about not finding your UFO. It has happened to me too and I’ve sometimes found UFOs that I had completely forgotten about 🙂

  25. Great colors in your Lonestar quilt! Thanks for sharing your steps in creativity in this project!

  26. Your background auditions made me giggle. Gorgeous quilt though. Did you use a certain pattern or tutorial?

  27. Way to get it finished. Your Lone Star is very pretty. I love that you chose black, that was my choice too.

  28. This is a beauty. Yes maybe it started as diamonds in the rough but not any more.

  29. Gorgeous. I really need to make one of these star quilts myself. I do believe you may have pushed me over the edge with this one! LOL!!

  30. Gorgeous! I have a large lone star top that I pieced from solids (blue, purple, yellow, red, & green) several years ago. I still need to figure out how I want to quilt it. Yours is so pretty!

  31. Who doesn’t love a lone Star? I know I do. It is often the hardest part what to use for a background fabric on a Lone Star.

  32. Thunder Quilts (BarefootThunder)

    Beautiful. The black really makes that star shine 🌟

  33. Brenda @ Songbird Designs

    Great job! I love star quilts and yours is awesome. Really pops on that black background!

Leave a comment