Camper Window!

I was so excited when Carla at Creatin’ in the Sticks announced a blog hop using the blocks from her 30 Blocks in 30 Days Quilt! I was assigned the Camper Window block and, I’ll admit, I was kerflumoxed. I didn’t quite know where to start. I stared at the design a bit and then pulled out some thrift store finds I’d been excited about.

I scaled the block down so I could use my 2.5″ strips and put the leftovers back in my bins. First, I tried the block as designed.

I’ll admit it, I couldn’t get my eye to love it. So, I added a color. It was supposed to be a shadow but it was darker than I thought.

But I liked it so away I went.

And here’s the finished quilt.

I love, love, love this! The strong diagonal lines make my heart happy and the soft colors make me smile. Even better, this has to be one of the easiest blocks to piece and put together. There is minimal matching of seams but big impact!

I’d love to try this again with scrappy darks and lights. Hop over to Creatin’ in the Sticks for the tutorial. Thanks to Carla for such a fun block!

Happy quilting,

Beth

27 responses to “Camper Window!

  1. I thought that Camper Window looked like a difficult block to get to work. Experimentation paid off for you with this quilt. I like how it turned out.

  2. Gotta love a pattern that turns out cute and has minimal matching! Cute quilt!

  3. Love the whimsical look in the fabrics! Very adorable turn out!

  4. What a fun way to use the Camper Window block. It’s an interesting block that has a lot of possibilities. Your quilt is so pretty. Thanks for joining us in the 30 Quilt Blocks in 30 Days Blog Hop and Quilt Along. It’s hard to believe it’s day 25. Thank you for the nice and inspirational post.

  5. Brenda~Songbird Designs

    I like the way it turned out! Cute!

  6. I very much like the addition of your ‘shadow’ block. I admit I’m sitting here struggling with this block, too – it’s so – not symmetrical….
    I choose a piece of vintage sheet as my ‘background’ fabric, and didn’t have enough of it, so I am making my blocks inside out (I have to talk myself through the cutting, for sure 😉 so some of them don’t make as much sense as their ‘right side out’ counterparts. I’m having fun with it anyways, and look forward to making my daily block. I’m going to have to think on this one a little more, though, and decide what to do.
    Happy sewing ~ Tracy

  7. Your addition of the extra color really pulled this block together for me too! The soft colors are so pleasing together and really looks more complicated that it is. Wonderful work!

  8. I really like your version with the “shadow” block. The finish turned out beautifully. Great colors too.

  9. It’s so empowering to change the block size…and have great results! Thank you for sharing today.

  10. Good idea! I love how your quilt turned out!

  11. Love the calming colours in your quilt. Thanks for sharing.

  12. You did a great job! I love the sweet colors you used. Good job.

  13. I love your process of putting this together…it’s beautiful!

  14. Great quilt. I enjoyed seeing that you are not afraid to use thrift shop finds. I have found a lot but have not used any yet.

  15. Quilting Tangent

    Pretty and 2 quilt layouts.

  16. Rosalind Gutierrez

    Sometimes a simple pattern is the best to feature a novelty fabric.

  17. I like how your quilt turned out.

  18. Angela J Short

    Very cool quilt. Thank you for sharing. Have a wonderful day! angielovesgary2 atgmail dotcom

  19. Your quilt is really cute. I like the colors you used, even if you hoped the colors would work a bit differently. Thanks for sharing!

  20. I like the strong diagonal lines in your quilt. Your quilt is so pretty!

  21. This is such a “spring-y” quilt. I love how you found a way to bring some cohesion to a block I found rather jangly at first glance.

  22. Brenda Ackerman

    Your quilt turned out so pretty! Thank you for sharing your inspirations on this block and using it in a quilt. As many have said, it has so many potentials.

  23. Wonderful quilt with the block.

  24. Pingback: Tu-Na Quilts: Catching Some Z’s | Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats

  25. I love your quilt! And I am loving this blog hop. I am constantly being amazed by the quilts that are being made from easy to make blocks. Thanks!

  26. Like the change up in color you created by modifying the block colors. Sweet quilt and the idea of a dark and light one sounds awesome.

  27. Pingback: Tu-Na Quilts: Starting Tomorrow-30 Blocks in 30 Days | Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats

Leave a comment