Ohhh, My Tiara’s Crooked But Come On In, Anyway!

Welcome to my stop on the Quilt Qwazy Queens. This year we were challenged to share our dirty secrets, I mean, sewing rooms.   And mine is downright shameful, I admit it.   When I do get in here, I’m so busy playing that I hate taking time out to tidy.  I have begun a mass excavation of my space but, fair warning here, the OCD among you may want to just skip the next two photos.

Psst, it’s OK to look again.  Now that I’ve had that reality check (maybe next year you’ll see a different view…one can hope), on to something I’m excited to share!

I love, love, love the idea of using up my scraps but I get discouraged when I see scrappy patterns that start with a request for 3, 5 or, yes, I saw one that took 7 yards of background fabric!  My personal fabric buying issue is “so many prints, so few blenders”, you know? So, when I brought home a bundle of inspiration fabrics from guild, I set out to use them up without adding to the bundle.


I cut them into 2″ strips and 3.5″ strips and started making four patches from the 2″ strips.   A little help from my easy angle ruler withe the 3.5″ strips and, here you go…

I did add one or two 3.5″ strip to this for background but just think of the possibilities!  I plan to make this with an additional border of squares for an organ donor quilt.   You could use a 5×5 grid instead of 4×4 for your setting blocks and use a 15″ block.   Just think how fast that would grow!   You could mush up the colors to match a baby’s room theme and add applique blocks or a theme print.  Use 2.5″ strips (I have a drawer full of them) and only need a 3×3 grid of four-patches.  The best part? These four patches make great leaders and enders. I’m already started on two more that will be larger and more “mushy” in their color choices.

Now, I’m sure this is not a completely original design, quilters have been using one-patch blocks forever.   A lot of my ideas have been influenced by all the great quilters I follow and, if I have inadvertently come close to one of their designs, please know it was not intentionally.

Anyway, that’s my contribution for the day.  This quilt is headed back to my guild as a charity quilt.  Now, I can’t let you actually leave without a little bit of hospitality…thanks to our amazing Marian at Seams to be Sew, there are wonderful prizes for every day of this hop!

First off, the wonderful people at the Fat Quarter Shop (Oh, my goodness, I just LOVE them!) are giving away a $50 certificate.  (OK, I’m seriously jealous because I’d love to win this!) Click here a Rafflecopter giveaway to enter!

And, (don’t you just love “and”…), the fine folks at Northcott Fabrics are giving away, you guessed it, fabric!  (Um, if you were brave enough to look at my sewing room, you might have guessed that I really, really love fabric!) They are giving away three fat quarters from the Garden Gate collections.  Click here a Rafflecopter giveaway to enter!

Now, as if that wasn’t awsome-ness enough, Marian has another more great giveaway stuff at her blog, Seams to be Sew.

Of course, the fun isn’t over yet…Terial Arts is giving away two bottles of spray per day at Seams to be Sew.  And, each of us bloggers is giving away a different set of fabric so be sure to visit every quilting castle!

I’m honored to be sharing this day with

Jane’s Quilting
Seacoast Quilter
Words & Stitches – That’s me!
Quilting Affection

Now, I’m taking my flu-ridden self back to bed.  (If I sounded any crazier than usual, maybe we can blame it on the flu?)

Happy Quilting!

Beth

 

 

51 responses to “Ohhh, My Tiara’s Crooked But Come On In, Anyway!

  1. Gosh, I hope you feel better soon. I have spent the last two days trying to do some organization in my space. Like you….I’d much rather sew than clean. Your top looks beautiful.

  2. My sewing area is this bad or worse, but I am trying to improve it! Yours is full of some fun looking projects!

  3. I hope you shake that flu bug soon. I really like your blue and white quilt top!

  4. Thanks for the interesting article. I do love Northcott Fabrics, and follow them on Facebook.

  5. Oh, my! Your sewing studio looks like mine! I keep meaning to tidy up but it si so much fun to create. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Great charity quilt. My sewing area is a mess also

  7. I think it’s cool you spend time sewing instead of organizing. Good luck everyone in the giveaways!! angielovesgary2 atgmail dotcom

  8. ha ha my room looked like that and I finally organized it yesterday. Nice charity quilt! Hope you feel better soon!

  9. I had much rather be sewing than cleaning up my sewing space.I find that after cleaning, I can’t find anything. At least, if I don’t clean up, I know where everything is.LOL
    I hope you feel better soon. Thank you for sharing today.

  10. Your sewing space looks like mine – I always seem to have too much stuff out!! 🙂

  11. when time is limited and you have to choose organizing or sewing…well it’s gotta be sewing that wins!!! Even though the my OCD self wanted to run over and help organize. ROFL

  12. Connie Kresin Campbell

    Beautiful charity quilt and great tips!

  13. Quilting Tangent

    Feel better, pretty quilt.

  14. Sorry to hear you’re sick. It was a bad year for colds. Thanks for sharing your sewing room. It is much more fun to see than to tidy up! Thanks for sharing! tljeo at yahoo dot com

  15. Beautiful quilt. And, btw, my sewing room looks like yours. Maybe we need virtual organization parties to encourage time to tidy up. I tend to work on it between projects, or when I’m doing machine embroidery.

    QuiltShopGal
    http://www.quiltshopgal.com

  16. Your sewing room doesn’t look too much different than mine. I have several projects going at once!

  17. The blue quilt is pretty!

  18. I love your sewing space. You must be in an attic. I’ve always have dreams of an attic bedroom ever since I was a little girl. Wonder just where those came from! LOL! Hope you get to feeling better soon!

  19. I am currently trying to organize my room too! I recently took out a spare twin bed to make room, but found boxes of fabric from my previous attempt at quilting 20 years ago! Time to organize!

  20. Pingback: Welcome To Day 03 of Quilt Qwazy Queens… |

  21. I hope your feeling better soon Beth… and while admittedly my sewing room right now is almost clean… it is usually very much like yours, a little path to where I am sitting and everything else is moved out of the way when I need to get to it. I hate being that way, but have always been like this as I toy with the idea of .. should I keep it, or should I trash it.. LOL

  22. carolyn montgomery

    my space looks pretty much like yours as i am in the middle of re-arranging and making a design wall.

  23. Gotta admit the OCD in me just clicked. hahhaa *grins*
    You know you just can’t contain creativity!
    Popped by from QQQ-2017

  24. I’m glad I’m not the only quilter with a crazy sewing room – makes me feel a lot better!

  25. I love your ceiling.

  26. oh my, I do hope you get better soon. I love your quilt. and the colors are wonderful together

  27. So sorry to hear you are ailing-get better soon! Your quilt is beautiful! Thank you, Susan

  28. Lol ohhh my looks like my sewing room…ty for vist. …happyness04431@yahoo.com

  29. Finally a sewing room that I can relate to. Thanks for sharing.

  30. I love FQS, I shop there often, great service, and I think they sell every fabric available!!
    cork@pa.rr.com

  31. Like you, I love scrap quilts but I want them to be more “scrap” and less background. That said, for lots of patterns I also make the background scrappy so I’m always searching for light colored blenders that can be used in backgrounds.

  32. Hope you feel better soon. Your sewing space looks like mine – organized disorganization! Thanks!

  33. I love blue quilts. Thanks for sharing

  34. I had to show you room to my husband to prove I’m not the only one. Thanks

  35. Get well soon!

  36. I hope you feel better soon. I love your blue and white quilt!

  37. least there’s a room you can close the door on if it is in bad order. My sewing corner is in my livingroom

  38. That is a well used sewing room, really has the lived in look! Thanks for sharing!

  39. This is clearly the room of very creative person! Thanks for sharing your photos, and I hope you feel better soon!

  40. I really like blue, and this quilt, using up so many of those scraps you picked up … wow, this one is dynamite! Thanks for sharing it, and letting me see the before pictures. That looks like something I’d have. LOL

  41. Sandy A in St. Louis

    Love your quilt! I, too, hate when it takes 5-7 yards of background fabric for a quilt! Very rarely do I have that much on hand, and if I do it usually isn’t the right color!

    Hope you are over the flu quickly!

  42. Ooohhh, that quilt is beautiful!! May have to copy this one! lol!
    lstangl482 at aol dot com

  43. Thanks for keeping it real! We need more of that on the quilty interweb. 🙂

  44. Great use of scraps in your quilt! Your sewing space is clearly well organized for making lots of quilts. Thanks for inviting me in today … and making me feel right at home … 🙂 Pat

  45. Your place looks like mine! Made me feel at home!!

  46. My granddaughter and my sister’s granddaughter were picking out fabrics in my sewing room and I think it looked worse than your pic. I love the quilt you made from your quilt guild inspiration bundle.

  47. Love your scrappy blue quilt!! Scrapie’s are my favorite style!! 🙂 My room is close…ya sure you didn’t take those pic’s HERE???? giggle…Thanks for sharing!!

  48. I think this is what is called organized chaos, and I bet you can find everything you need. It doesn’t matter what a sewing room looks like, it’s what comes out of it that matters, and most everything coming out of quilters sewing rooms is made with Love!

  49. I thought about posting about my sewing room but didn’t have the energy to clean it up. Hmmm. I never thought of just taking a pic as is. It’s good to be reminded that it’s our working spaces and not showrooms.

Leave a Reply

