Project Quilting 8.3 …A Bright Shadow 

This week was a rough one.  The very same day that the challenge was released (texture…something seen outside the sewing room) was the day I drove two hours south to cherish memories of a friend who passed suddenly on Thursday.  Cindy and I were young moms together.  She was the celebrant at my wedding.  She was making “modern” quilts before modern was a thing and she was one of the kindest humans I’ve ever had the gift of knowing. She was beautiful and funny and determined.  She was always able to connect with people and she brought joy into the lives of everyone she met.  She and her family moved when our girls were only in their early grade school years but, on the rare occasions we talked, it was like we’d just seen one another the day before.

When Sarah went to college, not only did Cindy’s oldest, Ashley go to the same college but these two girls who had been friends in their infancy and early years ended up on the same floor of the same dorm. In fact, they were one door away from straight across from one another!

And so, on Sunday, I drove alone the two hours or so to Corvallis and I sat in a church and cherished my friend’s memory and mourned her loss with her family and friends.  And I stared around the church knowing I wanted to use something there for my inspiration.  My eye was drawn to the paneling with it’s gracious swoop and line.  I thought I would do something to echo the lines on the right hand side of the picture but it wasn’t coming together.  I knew I wanted the “shadows” to be bright, not dark because Cindy simply didn’t have any dark in her.  I tried a few variations and then took my original idea and scrapped it.  I kept the wide and narrow feel of the lines but instead of trying for the swoop, I settled for a cross-section.  Then, I used the brightest of pinks to create a shadow.

The strips are from my 2″ strip drawer and I know that at least one of them is from the time Cindy and I met.  I was trying to convey something in this little quilt that I’m not quite sure I captured but I am sure Cindy would be the first to assure me that the effort was more important than the result.  This week, I stretched my creative wings just a tad further…and I could imagine Cindy cheering my on.

If you’d like a peek at Cindy’s quilts, there is a website http://fibersoffaith.com.  Her work is beautiful.

And, now, it’s off to bed with me.  I have an early and long work day tomorrow.

Hug someone today.  Make the overdue phone call.  Tell your kids how awesome it is to have them.  Smile.  And create.

Beth

6 responses to “Project Quilting 8.3 …A Bright Shadow 

  1. I am so sorry. That is a lovely tribute to a dear friend.

  2. Your post comes at a time when I, too, am remembering a dear friend who succumbed to her second bout of breast cancer at 53. I miss her presence in my life.After her death we finished four of her in-progress quilts to give to her children–didn’t make a dent in what she had on the go. Thank you.

  3. I am so sorry to hear of your friends passing–good friends are really hard to come by–so am glad you had one in Cindy–love the little quilt you make in her honor–
    enjoy the moments,di

  4. Beth- The Block is simply beautiful because of the love and care it was made with. Your friend CIndy I’m sure is cherishing it from heaven. You have such a delightful and caring soul and are such a blessing to so many. I hope someday my “heart” will be seen in my quilting.
    Hugs ~Jennifer

  5. This was such a perfect way for you to process your feelings, and I’m glad you could share it with us. Hugs ❤

  6. What a wonderful way to cherish a lost friend. Sending hugs! And your piece is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

