Project Quilting, Challenge 2

This week’s challenge was Carolina Lily and, in all honesty, my heart sank when I read that. It’s a lovely block and all but….so I read again and realized you could use the design as a jumping off point.   So I did.   I drafted the lily flower for paper piecing in a couple different sizes (3″, 2″ and 1.5″) and paper pieced them with scraps.   Here’s the pile I started with 

After paper piecing the flowers, I impromptu pieced them together using the rest of the blue/green scraps I’d pulled.  It was a bit like putting a puzzle together (with the added bonus of being able to change the shapes with my rotary cutter!)

I made a Franken-batt with a few strips of batting trim leftovers put together with a quick zigzag and quilted it on my “new to me” Bernina 440. This was my first try with the stitch regulator so I stuck to what one blogger I admire calls “organic wavy lines. ”

I added a black binding and got done in time for a photo in the snow before our rain started up. 

And here it is…”Mr Monet goes to Carolina.”

We’re all hoping to go back to work tomorrow but my schedule is pretty light this week so I’m hoping to have another finish to share soon!

Happy quilting,

Beth

13 responses to “Project Quilting, Challenge 2

  1. This is fabulous! I love the Monet feel of it! Great job making the quilt work for you!

  2. I LOVE THIS!! yes I’m yelling. I love how they turned into perfect water lily. Great thinking! ❤

  3. Lovely. Great interpretation.

  4. Great interpretation, Beth. I love it.

  5. That’s beautiful Beth.

  6. You did a great job! I love how our quilt turned out. Beautiful!

  7. Reminds me of Monet’s water lilies! Great interpretation!

  8. Oh, that is pretty! Love it!

  9. It’s so pretty. I love it!

  10. This quilt is lovely. A nice creative interpretation of the challenge.
    Janie @isabellaswhimsy

  11. Creative and fun! Love that Monet visited Carolina.

  12. I love the rich blues you’ve chosen to show your Monet inspiration. Beautiful!

  13. I really liked your finished design…reminded me of Monet’s water lilies! Lovely!

Leave a Reply

