Snow Day!

One of the many perks of going back into education is the occasional snow day!  I’m sure people on the east coast laugh but it doesn’t take much to shut the Portland metro area down. Here’s my neighborhood this morning. 

The thing about Oregonian snow storms is that we lack equipment like snow plows and we have an unfortunate tendency towards freezing rain and ice. One year, we had six inches of snow covered with more than an inch of ice and another 8 inches of snow!  Of course, that’s ten years or so ago.  

To give you an idea of our inability to cope, it took my husband four hours to make his 25 minute commute yesterday.  Little patches of ice complicate traffic here.  

So here I am with most of a day to play and no where to go except to work tonight. What’s a girl to do?

Here’s my plan…I’m going to finish the patchwork stockings I’m making

Make some potholders and get some quality amazon shopping time in!

Well, and go for a snow walk, build a small snow man and listen to some Christmas music..  hmmm, I think i had better get started! 

Happy snow day!

2 responses to “Snow Day!

  1. It sounds e a perfect play day to me!!!

  2. Absolutely, winter comes every year so we might as well get outside and enjoy! Not to mention that coming back inside for a hot cup of tea is wonderful too.

Leave a Reply

