Eerie Nights Blog Hop

 

It’s here!  I’ve been a little swamped (two back-to-back 70+ hour weeks between both jobs) so, once again, I found I have to postpone my big Halloween project. I’m a lot closer than last year but I’m not ready to show it until it is done.  So, what’s a busy girl to do…improvise!  I hijacked a stack of four-patches from the big project and decided to make a small piece.  My original plan was to free/crumb piece a pumpkin similar to Bonnie Hunter’s scrap hearts.  Then I happened to see Bonnie doing strip piecing for pumpkin blocks on her blog.  By luck, the first orange fabrics to come out of the scrap bag were orange strip bits.  Sewn together and given corners, it began to look a little pumpkin-ish.  The green top required a tiny bit of ripping.  I wanted the stem to have those little “feet” but didn’t get the proportions right the first time.

The binding isn’t done yet but all of these pieces, the black, the green and the oranges, came right out of my scraps.  The four-patches are from the other project but I’ve made hundreds for it so they won’t be missed.  Hopefully, the big Halloween will get finished in time for next year!

I’m pretty pleased with this little piece and think I will hang it up in my office at school.

Now, none of this fun would happen without a whole lot of work and support on the part of the fabulous Marian of Seams to be Sew and Amy from Sew Incredibly Crazy.  We have an awesome sponsor, as well, the fabulous Fat Quarter Shop.  You can enter to win a Fat Quarter Gift Certificate by entering here.  

Thanks for hopping by and be sure to “scare” up the time to visit the other hopppers!

Happy quilting!

Beth

October 20th
October 21st
October 24th
October 25th
October 26th
October 27th
October 28th
66 responses to “Eerie Nights Blog Hop

  1. I love Bonnie’s new pumpkin project and yours is great as well!

  2. Teatime Creations

    Love your little pumpkin. What a variety of fabric prints you have. I am so glad that I am not the only one who has projects that “mature slowly”. Cute way to do the pumpkin stem.

  3. I really like your pumpkin. Too cute.

  4. Very pretty! Looking forward to the big reveal of the big Halloween!

  5. Love your pumpkin!

  6. Your pumpkin is awfully cute; love those spooky cats!

  7. So cute! I’ve never been one for Hallowe’en decor other than carving a pumpkin or two, I live the idea of making a quilted one once and be done!

  8. What a wonderful quilt-just love that pumpkin!-great fabric!

  9. That’s a great improv! I like the fabric you used to make the pumpkin.

  10. Cute pumpkin! Fast and easy, always a treat.

  11. This is a sweet little wall hanging. I’m new to quilting and hope to have a wall hanging for next Halloween…or maybe two!

    Thanks for participating in the hop.

  12. You did a great job in a short time!!!! Wonderful

  13. I really like the pumpkin! This inspires me to dig out my orange scraps and try one (or more) myself!

  14. I really like your pumpkin. I think you did a wonderful job. Thank you for sharing.

  15. Great Halloween pumpkin!

  16. The pumpkin is really cute. Great impromtu idea. sometimes they work out the best

  17. Nice improvising! With those long hours I don’t know how you managed to finish it.

  18. This pumpkin is so cute and the fabrics are beautiful! It’s tough when life gets in the way of our sewing. :O)

  19. What a festive little wall hanging to brighten up your office. Love your pumpkin. The colors really pop!

  20. Oh, I really need to get a leg up on making a Halloween mini like this! What fun to have this one hanging in your office at school! Do you hang others up as the seasons and holidays change?

  21. Linda Williamson

    Your wall hanging turned out beautiful. I love decorating for Halloween, the kids just love it. Thanks for the giveaway. grinnie1961 at gmail dot com

  22. carolyn montgomery

    very cute, i love all the spooky fabrics.

  23. Cute quilt! I like the large pumpkin in the middle.

  24. Your mini is delightful.

  25. What a clever way to make a Halloween Wall Hanging in record time! It is great fun!

  26. The large pumpkin in the middle is striking!

  27. What a sweet little quiltie for your office. Perfect for the season!

  28. What a fun pumpkin wall quilt for your office! I love the fabrics you selected. Very cute!

  29. Sometimes it’s the smaller things in life that give us the most pleasure–
    love your little hanging and thanks for sharing–
    love and laughter, di

  30. Great colors in your mini-mini!

  31. Spooktacular project. I love scrappy quilts and find it very interesting on how you created the pumpkin. Great job.

    QuiltShopGal
    http://www.quiltshopgal.com

  32. Allison Church Bird

    Cute pumpkin!!! Will look lovely in your workspace!!!

  33. Very cute wall hanging. I love all the vibrant colors.

  34. This hop is so dang cute! Thank you for showing off the pumpkin and the giveaway! 🙂

  35. This quilt is adorable. Thanks for sharing it with us!!

  36. That will surely brighten up your office space.

  37. Quilting Tangent

    Cute mini quilt!

  38. Very cute! I saw Bonnie’s pumpkins too and I’m tempted to make some.

  39. If your improv turned out this well I can only imagine how great your big piece will be.

  40. your mini is wonderful. I love all the different fabrics you put together

  41. Very cute project. fingers crossed for getting to see the big one next year!

  42. Your piece turned out great. What fun to have to hang for the holiday!

  43. I’ve been admiring Bonnie’s pumpkin quilts too!

  44. What a great scrappy Halloween project!

  45. I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this, did I say I LOVE IT!!! I really do, the colors, and the pattern, so fun, fabulous and whimsical.. Awesome project Beth… Thank you so much for participating in Seams To Be Sew events this year, it’s been a blast and we couldn’t do it without bloggers like you.

  46. Your little pumpkin quilt is adorable. I love minis!

  47. Great thinking. This is too cute.

  48. cute wallhanging.

  49. Great mini quilt.

  50. Cute, cute, and delightfully cute.

  51. Such a cute little punkin! Thanks for sharing.

  52. Cute pumpkin!

  53. I love making quick little wall quilts. You can hang them anywhere and enjoy for the season!

  54. Cute pumpkin. I like how you set it inside the black so it would show off well. A very fun piece. kthurn(at)bektel(dot)com

  55. Very very cute ….tyty for sharing….. happyness04431@yahoo.com

  56. I love your little mini!

  57. Awesome job on whipping up that cute pumpkin sampler on short notice.

  58. thanks for the Halloween mini quilt inspiration.

  59. Great fun!

  60. I love scrappy projects for two reasons: I love the variety, and I love to get rid of scraps! Win-win! Your mini pumpkin quilt is a perfect project.

  61. Your little quilt is so cute!

  62. Great mini!! Love the scrappy choices!! Love it!!

  63. That would make a great mug rug! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

