“I Need a Vacation” Project Quilting Challenge

Honestly, when they announced that the next challenge in Project Quilting was “I need a vacation”, I laughed out loud.  I was at the tail of end of an 80-hour work week between my two jobs and was getting rather tired.  For those of you who may have stopped by for the first time, I work for a school and I work in a candy store and, well, they announced the challenge on Valentine’s Day…enough said!

My word of the year for my quilts is “Scrap” and so I went to my trusty scrap bags and began pulling…

20160217_211803.jpg

I had a plan but it pretty much went by the wayside as soon as I started sewing (my original plan had curved piecing but didn’t pan out quite the way I thought it would.)

I was feeling pretty good about it at this point.

20160217_213313.jpg

Then I got the sky on and hmmph, things starting looking flat and uninspired.

This morning, I stole 1.5 hours to sew and thought I’d take the sky apart and revamp it but, seriously, it needed done today so I hoped a border fabric could do some magic and I found one!

20160220_103057.jpg

It still looks flat but the border helps.  I made a little “franken-batt” because i just “need” to use up those ever-multiplying batting scraps.

20160220_102004.jpg

And I began quilting.  Quickly, but with a little plan and, to my great delight, my little beach scene started coming alive!

Here’s a picture of my finished quilt outside

20160220_120235.jpg

And here’s  an inside shot that I think shows the quilting better.  (Remember, by the time everything else was ready, I had 1 hour to quilt and bind this.)

20160220_120310.jpg

This is what happens when they change WordPress around…I can’t find where to flip this image.  Hopefully, you still get the idea!

Of course, I had good help on this project and it got the Gizmo seal of approval.

20160220_113148.jpg

OK, so now I’m linking this up to Persimmon Dreams and  the voting will open tomorrow.  I’d love a few votes but, honestly, I feel like I’ve already won just by stretching my creative process.  Every piece in this quilt was a scrap of some kind and nearly every seam was cut and sewn freehand.  I am so excited to see what the next challenge will be!

Happy quilting!

Beth

4 responses to ““I Need a Vacation” Project Quilting Challenge

  1. What a lovely design. You did an excellent job & you definitely get my vote!

  2. Cute….and I like the prairie points for the water. Your quilting really make it all pop.

  3. This is so cute and your quilting is amazing!

  4. You have a great idea for the waves! This is a sweet quilt. Beach vaca’s are the best.

Leave a Reply

