“The Berenstain Bears God Made You Special”

bearsI’ve been a huge fan of the Berenstain Bears books since I discovered them when my oldest was little.  I loved the way they addressed real-life challenges kids face like bullying, lying, team sports, and moving with fun, good humor and common sense.  The illustrations were fun and the humor made them a joy to read with my children.  Over the years, I’ve shared many a Berenstain Bears book with my daycare kids, as well, so I jumped at the chance to review “The Bernenstain Bears God Made You Special.”

Personally, I think there’s a little something lacking without Jan and Stan.  Mike has the illustrations down but the storytelling reads more like Sunday School than Berenstain Bears.  I can’t say I thoroughly enjoyed reading it even though the message was good because it lacked the humor and witty edge of the earlier books.  However, the proof is in the reading.  The preschooler that I “test read” this with enjoyed it and maybe that’s all there needs to be.  I do believe, however, that the same great message of tolerance and kindness could have been preached with a bit more humor in the “classic bear style.”

This book was provided to me by the publisher for this review. The opinions are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

