Happy Easter, Goal Setting and My Dog, Nick.

Happy Easter!

wpid-20150403_072809-1.jpg

I have an “accidental” flower bed in my veggie garden.  We moved some things around and some bulbs got “put here for now.”  It’s years later and the tulips, iris and hyacinth seem to be loving their crowded home.  Maybe this will be the year I finally divide them…or, maybe not!  Either way, they cheer me up with their loveliness and I hope you like them, too.

So it’s the 5th already and I realized that I haven’t set my April goal for A Lovely Year of Finishes so I’m going with something you’ve already seen once, Sarah’s RN quilt.

wpid-20150228_135347.jpg

It’s basted but nary a quilting stich has been added as I’ve pondered what color thread to use.  Looking at this photo, I’m thinking red?  What do you think? One way or another, this one is my goal to finish.  I have a project for the “Have a Latte” hop, too which is starting soon.

Also, I know I promised a post on Thursday but Thursday was a bad-news day for me.  My dear dog buddy, Nick, has a tumor growing in his leg which is not treatable other than making him comfortable.  We have probably months left, maybe close to the end of the year but you never can tell with these things.  In the meantime, I signed up for the Dog Days mini swap over at the Quilted Cat just before this so, along with being my first swap, this will be a bit of a poignent project.

wpid-ncm_0875.jpgI know you generally hear more about my cats than my dog but Nick has been my biggest fan, walking buddy and constant companion since he came into my life 12 years ago as a rambunctios one year-old lost dog in need of a forever home.  Now that his forever is drawing to an end, I want to make the best of the time I have with him.

I’m linking this up over at A Lovely Year of Finishes and I’ll try to post about the other thing tomorrow.  (I worked 20 or so hours at my second job this week in addition to the regular one so today I’m trying to catch the house up and get the dinner ready between church and tonight’s family dinner….if I get lucky, I’ll slip in some sewing time, too!)

Happy Easter and Happy Quilting!

Beth

One response to “Happy Easter, Goal Setting and My Dog, Nick.

  1. Your flowers are so beautiful – mine are still hiding! Prayers for you and Nick…he looks like my beloved Rudy who went on ahead of me a bit over a year ago. He was my faithful companion when I would do my chores around the farm or set off on a walk and he loved to do the irrigation pipes with my step-son. They hold such a huge place in our hearts that it leaves quite a hole when they are gone. Enjoy every day with Nick…extra cuddles work too!

Leave a Reply

