I’m Back! (And spinning like a top!)

IMG_1587

“These days, I just don’t even ask!”

I’ve always contended that it takes as many days as you’re gone to get caught up after a trip and this trip is no exception!  I’ll just tell you how Monday went and you’ll understand.  (Keep in mind that this is after arriving at the airport at 11:01 p.m. the night before.)

6:00 a.m. – dressed and ready for baby A and brother L to arrive

7:30 a.m. – walk brother L to school with baby A and dog

8:00 a.m. – preschooler E arrives

10:15 – walk back to school with baby, preschooler and dog to retrieve kindergartner T

11:45 a.m. – take preschooler E to preschool with baby and kindergartener

12 – 1:45 p.m. errands

2:oo p.m. – retrieve additional children from school, homework, snack, etc.,

6:15 p.m. – get daughter off to band practice

8:30 p.m. – retrieve from band practice.

9:00 p.m. – collapse!  (And let me remind you that I have very, very nice kids in my care…imagine how bad it could be with the wrong cast of kids!)

So, each day was pretty much a repeat of the last one with the added fun of it being Homecoming weekend.  I walked in the parade with my younger daughter and the marching band.  We lucked out on the weather, it only sprinkled but then I had to walk back uphill to my car and it POURED!  I was soaked through my rain jacket!  On crossing the last street, I stepped in a pot hole and soaked my shoe…that pair is still drying!

Saturday was just as busy but much more fun because it was a quilt tea Saturday!  Four Saturdays a year, I get together with one of the best group of ladies ever and have tea and exchange fat quarters.  This month, the theme was forest and here was my set I came home with.

IMG_1589

I also came home with a fun bag of scraps from my friend Donna.

IMG_1590

On top of having gotten a bag of scraps at the quilt shop!

IMG_1591

I know, I know, too many scraps and not enough scrap quilts coming!  Have faith, there will be quilting time this week…although I will be devoting much of it to my “Black Cat Crossing” project.  I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with.  This blog hop has such talented participants and I’m always humbled to be included!

Of course, homecoming week ends with a dance on Saturday and here’s our youngest all ready to go.

IMG_1579

Her dad gave a big, old “Whoa!” when he saw her all ready to go.  It’s hard to believe she’s 15!

Speaking of numbers, I have a winner from the last hop…comment #70!

wpid-ncm_0234.jpg I picked up this fat quarter at the City Quilter in NYC to add to the prize.

IMG_1529

I did bring a few other fabrics back but City Quilter was the only shop I was able to visit.

See a bit of a theme emerging?

See a bit of a theme emerging?

I also completed a few hexie flowers on my trip but I’ll save those for another post.  For now, while I’d love to do this

IMG_1585

I’m off to make a few more efforts toward a head start for tomorrow when the crazy schedule starts all over again!  The kids only have school Monday and Tuesday this week for conferences…again, I’m so lucky to have nice kids to hang out with!

Happy quilting!

Beth

Oh, and if you’re wondering why Nick is sporting a shirt, my dear friends Carolyn and Sarah loaned me the shirt so Nick could avoid the “cone of shame” while we get a sore on his elbow to heal!

Leave a Reply

