The Rush is On! (With a Giveaway!)

It’s Rush Hour Time and, guess what? I’m rushing! Actually, I’m early as my day isn’t until Tuesday but that means my post needs to be up at 9:00 PM Eastern Time on Monday and I’ll be on a plane right at that time so I’m posting early! Just in case I can’t find reliable Wi-Fi, here’s my rush around story.

A few weeks ago, I found an adorable tutorial for a laptop bag on the Bear Creek Quilting site.  The idea behind the Rush Hour hop was to make something to do with our morning rush and I thought this would be perfect!  I ordered up my fabric and launched into the tutorial.  About halfway through the process, I was struck by a thought.  I work at home.  My laptop never really leaves the living room.  I called my oldest daugther, “Sarah,”  I said, “I think I’m making you a laptop case.”  We both had a good laugh over it and, fortunately, she loves it!  I think I’ll make another one, though, with different pockets and make myself a general purpose bag that my Kindle can ride around in with a few books and hexies, etc. I love the look of this bag and the ingenious little zip pocket that lets you convert an outside pocket to a slide to attach it to your roller bag.

My younger daughter did a photo shoot for me and I couldn’t decide which of these shots I liked better.

Hanging out on the front porch...

Hanging out on the front porch…

And getting "hung up" on it's way to the car!

And getting “hung up” on its way to the car!

I loved, loved, loved working with these prints from Studio E!  I wish I could have ordered the whole set but, well, one must do as the budget can manage!  Now, I did mention a giveaway and a plane ride, right?  So, here’s the deal.  Leave me a comment, any kind of comment and I’ll draw a winner on October 13th.  I’m giving away this cute little bag of smaller pieces but, I’ll sweeten the pot with an as-yet-to-be-found something from my trip to the East Coast (I hear there’s a terrific quilt shop in NYC.)

DSCF6007

Now, be sure to hop over on Tuesday to the wonderful, talented people I’m sharing my day with and, of course, this all wouldn’t be possible without the terrific duo of Madam Samm and Carol of Just Let Me Quilt.

Tuesday, September 30

Lily Patch

MooseStash Quilting

Words & Stitches

Karma Willow Designs

Kwilt Krazy

How arT you?

Sew We Quilt

And now, in the spirit of Rush Hour, I’m rushing off to pack.  It’s 8:15 PM and I leave at 6:00 am.  I’m not packed and I still have to hem two pair of pants.  You might say that “Rush Hour” is a way of life at my house.  Or, as I like to put it, “Everything around here is the Festival of the Last Minute!”

Happy quilting!

Beth

80 responses to “The Rush is On! (With a Giveaway!)

  1. Wow Beth, you are a busy lady!! Love the bag – thanks for the link to the tutorial!!

  2. The City Quilter in NYC is a wonderful shop

  3. Good timing! I’m looking for a laptop bag or something to carry my tablet in when I leave the house. Thanks for all you do.

  4. Great bag! I love bags. And the brown fabric giveaway???I just bought brown plaid to mkr a throw! Perfect! Thanks. Have fun on your trip.

  5. Love the bag and I’m sure your daughter really appreciated it. Have fun in New York and be sure and post lots of pictures from your trip.

  6. Loooove your bag!! (I am such a Bag/Tote Addict!! lol) Have a grrrrreat trip too!!!

  7. What is black and white and red all over?

    A zebra with a sunburn!

    Have a great trip!

  8. Wonderful bag. Have a good trip to NYC. There’s so much to see and do there. kthurn@bektel.com

  9. Powhatan a fabulous bag, Beth! Have a great trip!

  10. Lovely auto correct! What a fabulous bag, Beth! Or just Powhatan! Lol!

  11. Love the bag and I bet your daughter is thrilled! Enjoy your trip, and thank you for sharing.

  12. Sweet looking bag…I love it hanging in the tree!

  13. Great bag. I love the handles and the way they surround the bag. Have a safe trip!

  14. Great laptop bag! I have loved the Rush Hour blog hop, it’s so great seeing all the creative projects that has been made!

  15. I love the laptop bag! It looks great and really sturdy too. Have you taken it with you on your trip? Or could you not pry it loose from your daughter? Thank you for sharing.

  16. Very nice bag and I like the reinforcing of the handles around the bag.

  17. Fabulous Bag Beth!! I Love the idea of wrapping it on my Roller Suitcase!! Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful trip!! TinselTrading.com is a great trim place to visit in NYC

    Huggs, Nancy

  18. you did well Beth..is this the lap top bag …? or a tote…yes or both right…I need a post to rest my bags…lol glad you continue to inspire us all too

  19. Lovely bag! I really like that you used red for the handles! Safe trip!

  20. what a great bag!!! thank you for a tutorial too. fingers crossed for the giveaway!!

  21. I’m sure your daughter is very happy the bag is now for her; it’s lovely!

  22. Your bag is fabulous! Thank you for sharing!

  23. Your daughter will love her new laptop bag!! You did a great job on it!!
    I hope you have a great flight!

  24. What a great bag! Those red straps are just the ticket. They are so perfect for it. Wonderful job!

  25. Hi!!!! Wonderful lap top bag!!!!! I know your daughter will love it!!!! Thanks for the fun!!!!

  26. Love your laptop bag. I think it is my favorite project of the whole hop! Thanks for the great giveaway.

  27. Thanks For sharing your creativity! Well done!

  28. your laptop bag is lovely. Sure your daughter loves it. thanks for the give a way. hope you have a fun time in NYC.

  29. Score for your daughter then but oh what a cute bag you made. You have already thought of other uses for others. THX for the link. Safe travels to you. THX for the giveaway opportunity. Love your name for Rush Hour, LOL

  30. What a pretty bag…love the fabric you chose 🙂 Have a great time in NYC!!

  31. I am a bag lover and I love your computer bag.

  32. LOL The bag you made yourself/ daughter great ! She will enjoy it..That’s one of the prints in that line I especially love !

  33. Great bag. I think I just might try making a bag one of these days. You are all inspiring me with your lovely bags.

  34. Wow! You had better get hopping!
    That is a one fabulous bag.

  35. That looks wonderful. Those fabrics make such great looking bags.

    Have a good trip.

  36. OH WOW!!! That is adorable! I really love how you showcased it too!!!
    NYC! What an exciting trip you will be taking! Lots of fun shops there!

  37. What a great laptop bag. You have one lucky daughter. Enjoy your trip to NYC and be sure to let us know about that wonderful quilt shop. I know this enquiring mind wants to know!!! 😉

  38. Your bag is fabulous! I’m glad to see that I am not the only one who starts a project only to realize that I will not be the best “user” of the end product. My daughters have learned that as well and have gladly been happy recipients. Enjoy your trip and happy shopping! Thanks for sharing your creation with us today!

  39. Lovely bag and your daughter did a great photo shoot. Thanks for the link to the tutorial.

  40. Lovely bag. How handy it would be for traveling with a strap to slide on the rolling luggage. Have a great trip. Travel safe.

  41. Great bag – have a fabulous trip!!

  42. You did a wonderful job on the bag. Have a safe trip!

  43. Love your bag and that print. Have a fun trip!

  44. I love ***s! This grab bag of 100% cotton fabric would be so happy as my star points! I would love to win. I enjoyed your post and can’t imagine hemming two pair of pants and… packing ~ you know you will have to get up after you get settled in bed because you remember to set something by the door so you don’t forget it. Hope you are having a fan~tab~u~lous trip! What a great cheery daughter, enjoying her laptop case! Think you will need to make another “anything bag” for your photo-toting girl ~ I like the unique outdoor shots ~ on the move! Kathleen ~ Lane Hill House lanehillhouse[at]centurylink[dot]net
    P.S. By-the-way… I drooled over the Irish stew in the photo beneath where you “comment here.” ~ half-Irish Kathleen xx

  45. I absolutely love the bag you made. Thanks for sharing it!

  46. Have a great trip! I don’t have a laptop…If I made a bag, it would go to my daughter, too!

  47. What a pretty bag for a laptop or anything for that matter. It’s beautiful.

  48. Oh a festival of the Last Minute… I love it! I also love your bag too. What a lucky daughter you have.

  49. Your tote is worthy of all the above compliments. I can’t add anything different. Be safe on you vacation and enjoy, enjoy, enjoy.

  50. This is a fabulous bag with sew many possibilities. Thank you sew very much for sharing and hopping. Creative Rush Hour Bliss…

  51. What a wonderful bag pattern. Love the pictures she took especially the one which makes the bag look as big as the porch.

  52. Great use of your fabric for your bag! Have a great trip and thanks for sharing.

  53. Your bag is great! Love the Rush Hour fabrics. Thanks for the give away

  54. I loved your bag. I think you did a perfect job on it. Thanks for sharing and for even adding a little gift from your trip.

  55. Many thanks for letting me know about your laptop bag and the link so I can make one too! It’s going to the top of my to-do list for sure.

  56. Lucky daughter, that’s a great bag. Hope you have a safe trip.

  57. Thanks for the giveaway. I don’t know if my previous comment showed or not.

  58. That is a beautiful laptop bag and I like how you can attach it to your suitcase. Your multipurpose one will be great too. Enjoy your trip. I have been to the city quilter once and found some great NYC fabrics. Lots of fun.

  59. Thats a nice looking bag, you did a great job on it.

  60. Hi Beth, I hope you have fun in NYC! One of the best quilt stores I have ever been to was in NYC! I wish I could remember the name of it, but those brain cells are no longer with me 🙂
    One other thing, you were so positive about your bag, I hope you will take some more pictures of it because I would love to see it up close!

  61. Love the bag…..it would make a wonderful carry on….all the hand work for the plane…..great giveaway……thanks

  62. Fantastic bag, looks so amazing in these colors!
    Have an awesome trip 🙂

  63. great job on the bag! Thanks for sharing and enjoy your travels.

  64. Daughter or no daughter….that bag is too cute to give away! 🙂 blessings, marlene

  65. Beautiful bag. You did a great job on that. Have a great time in NYC. Go to City Quilter. I’ve heard it’s great. Thanks!

  66. A luggage strap seems to be a perfect addition to the bag. I’m sure your daughter is going to love it.

  67. What a great job on your tote. Have a lot of fun on your trip East.

  68. That’s a great looking laptop bag! Thanks for the link to the pattern. Your daughter lucked out with this project.

  69. Love your laptop bag. Thanks for sharing with us.
    wigglypup2 ( at ) yahoo ( dot ) com

  70. Your bag is adorable. They come in so handy. Every time I make one, I end up giving it away. But I keep on making more. One day I will have one myself. Have a safe and fun trip.

  71. Great laptop bag. Wonderful job. Safe travels.

  72. Laptop bag looks great in this fabric! I like the red handle straps! Safe travels and enjoy the Big Apple!
    Blessings
    Gmama Jane

  73. I love the letter fabric it is the perfect fabric selection for your laptop bag. It looks fabulous!

  74. Fab bag! Wish I were going to NYC. Have only seen the train station and the airport. Maybe someday. Enjoy.

  75. That’s one cool bag for your laptop. Lucky,

  76. That is so sweet of you to sew a laptop bag for your sister, both photos look great, I kind of like the one on the porch best, more light. Have fun in New York and be sure to go to the fashion district, I hear that’s where all the fabric stores are at.

  77. Love your bag, I am sure anyone would love such a great gift… but it means so much more coming from a family member. Have a fun and safe trip.

  78. beautiful bag they are all the rage for people on the go

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  79. Love the bag!!! Your daughter’s so lucky she’s receiving a laptop bag. 🙂 Thanks so much for the link to the tutorial—I keep thinking about making a bag for my laptop but like you, it never leaves home….. :/ Maybe I should go ahead and make the bag anyway. LOL

Leave a Reply

