So How Was Your Weekend?

I’ll admit it.  One of the things I miss about working in an office is having the chance to exchange weekend stories.  Especially after this weekend.  This weekend was the annual Willamette Writers Conference here in Portland and I had such fun!  To make it even better, I was able to go to a Quilters Yard Sale hosted at Pioneer Quilts on my way into town for the Saturday conference.  Fabric and people who don’t look at you funny when you rhapsodize about language.  It can’t get much better than that!

So, about the fabric.  This is a yard-sale kind of sale with quilters selling everything from pre-made items to their old stash.  I started at a table with a “fill a lunch bag of scraps for a dollar.”  Three other ladies and I finished off their tub in quick time!

My paper bag of scraps!

My paper bag of scraps!

I also found a few fat quarters, a few larger pieces and a few more bags of coordinated scrap pieces.  I spent about $20 and my haul looked like this!

My  goodies!

My goodies!

So, I don’t know if you’ve read that over at Stitched in Color, there is a purge challenge going on…I think I’ve got it backwards as we were supposed to be using up but I’m adding to!  I’m going to try to see what I have in the bag and what I can plan from it.  It’s ok to start purging with what you just bought, right?

The writers conference was amazing as usual!  I took a couple of classes with Larry Brooks and volunteered in the VIP room.  On Saturday, I looked up and there was my all-time favorite author walking in the door, Mr. Ivan Doig!  I didn’t completely go all fan-girl but I did ask him after he spoke at the banquet if I could get a photo with him.  If you’ve never read his work, do read one, or two or all 14 of his books!  (My current favorite is “The Bartender’s Tale.”)

Me with my writing hero, Ivan Doig!

Me with my writing hero, Ivan Doig!

I wasn’t originally planning on going to the banquet but was gifted with a ticket at the last minute and so was able to her Diana Galbadon (author of the Outlander Series) speak, too.  What an amazing night!  She was an extraordinary speaker and now I want to read her series.

The other amazing thing at the conference was that we had two birds of prey in residence down the hall and they came to visit us once or twice.  Our fearless leader is a falconer and couldn’t leave these two home alone.   Here’s one of our VIP’s holding the hawk

wpid-ncm_0222.jpg

And here’s the adorable falcon that I got to carry down the hall!

Rowan

Rowan

It was a fun, busy, exciting weekend and I loved every minute of it!  By Sunday night, though, I was pretty ready for some of this

Just putting my feet up!

Just putting my feet up!

But there’s never a dull moment around here and instead, we got this

My goofy girl!

My goofy girl!

So, that was my weekend. People who love words and people who love fabric…both, in my opinion, the best kind of people out there! Now I’m off to finish some book reviews and start playing with some fabric (in between swim lessons and errands and, well, you know the drill!)

So, how was your weekend?

Beth

 

 

 

3 responses to “So How Was Your Weekend?

  1. Oh my, it sounds like you had a wonderful time. You’re right about fabric and books. I do believe we are unique!

  2. My weekend was actually a week long…starting last Sunday night with a fabulous bachelorette party for my daughter where we all got to paint our own picture to bring home, Tuesday was the shower, Wednesday was the Rehearsal Dinner, Thursday was the drive up the lake, Friday was the gorgeous wedding on a beach at Lake Tahoe and the reception following, Saturday was a BBQ down in Reno, then Sunday I drove 15 hours (a bit of a detour through northern California to avoid the forest fires there) to my daughter’s home so I can house/pet sit while they are on their honeymoon! I am really happy to be alone with the animals this week!!! Your weekend sounds about as crazy as mine…non-stop!!!

  3. Oh you heard Diana Galbadon speak! How wonderful. Not my usual genre that I read, but one of the few that series that I have read over and over again.

Leave a Reply

