What’s Your Super Power? Blog Hop and Giveaway

I have to admit, I was a little stumped when Madam Samm suggested we do something celebrating our “superpower.” And with embroidery…hmmm…well, I’m game, I thought, and I signed up. Then, I mulled. And mulled some more. After all, I know what isn’t my superpower (think cleaning and/or organizing) and embroidery sure isn’t it. I mean, I cross-stitched about a hundred years ago but not much embroidery in this millenium. Then, looking around my house, it became obvious!

DSCN2849

Seriously, if you came to my house, you’d understand.  There are books all over!  I have a six-foot built-in bookcase in the living room with a smaller bookcase in the entry.  A bookcase in the kitchen, two in the upstairs hallway,  one in each daughter’s room, another in our room and three in the sewing area.  All of them are full to bursting and, with only a couple of exceptions, I’ve read every book.  I purposely didn’t pretty the shelves up before I took this picture because I wanted you to see the overcrowding going on here!   There’s a Kindle, too, which I love as it is a portable bookcase that fits in my purse! When I want to learn something, I find a book.  If I need to escape my life for a while, there’s nothing like a good book.  If I’m lonely, I have shelves full of old friends.  I’m a fast reader, too, which helps me get through lots of books in very little time.  (My oldest daughter is even faster than I am.)  So there it is, my superpower. So, my thanks to Madam Samm, Pauline the Quilting Queen, and DMC, our sponsor, for putting this all together.

I’ve got a small giveaway, before you hop along.  I’ve got these two fat quarters (forgive the poor photo quality, they are lovely in person) and all you have to do is leave me a comment.  Mr. Random will draw at the end of the hop and, yes, I’ll ship internationally.

DSCN2852

If you need a subject for a comment, how about a favorite book?  I’m currently enamored with “The Fault in Our Stars,” “The Host”, and I always go back to the Harry Potter books when I just have a few minutes to read but not enough time to get caught in a book. It’s like going back for a quick chat with old, good friends.

Here’s the rest of the hop schedule…thanks for coming by!  Oops!  I forgot to add that you can find the bookcase block at Block Central.  I combined two copies to make my shelf a little longer!

Beth

 

TUESDAY APRIL 15
 
WEDNESDAY APRIL 16
THURSDAY APRIL 17
 
FRIDAY APRIL 18

 

 

82 responses to “What’s Your Super Power? Blog Hop and Giveaway

  1. I have tons of books too! Looove my friends…just can’t do the Ebook thing…like feelin & turnin the pages…. My Go To book/friend is Always the Anne of Green Gable book! 🙂

  2. I’ve read tons of books , given away lots of them to downsize over the years. Also read very fast, but the joy these days has been turning off the tv and my husband and I read together, aloud taking turns. We’ve gone through the Harry Potter series, (which I read at least 3 times by myself) lots of classics including Dracula, and several SCI FI series, listened to a few audio books and are now working on R is for Ricochet, by Sue Grafton.
    That and around 50 sewing machines keep me busy.

  3. I love a good mystery, maybe by Peter roberison

  4. Reading is one of my super powers too!! At the moment I am treading “The Book Thief” – I would recommend it!

  5. I love to read but for whatever reason never seem to get to. The extent of my reading is usually a quilt magazine or someone’s blog post. By the looks of the project, you have another superpower too! It’s a cute little wall hanging and it’s perfect for you.

  6. I also adore reading – always have, even as a kid. My Kindle has over 1,000 books on it and I read every day. I have 7 six-foot bookcases all over the house full to overflowing! I enjoy reading Robert Heinlein and Anna McCaffery for sci-fi and Nora Roberts for mystery/romance…and my collection of Reader’s Digest Condensed Books that introduce me to new authors I would otherwise not know about. Reading a book is the cheapest trip I will every get to take and love those “cheap” trips!!! Love your wall hanging!!!

  7. I like audio books – when I read I forget the story by the next page, but an audio sticks with me and lets me do other taks while listening. Mysteries and the classics are my favorites.

  8. Not reading much these days, unless you count pattern and other how to books lol…used to be a voracious reader though once upon a time. Love your stitchery!

  9. Reading is my Super Power too! Love the feel of paper between my fingers. Thank you for sharing.

  10. I’m also an audiobook listener, helps me to multitask and still be able to read sorta 🙂 Nice project for a great superpower

  11. I love books, too!

  12. I would say that you have a super super power. I love to read during the cold winter months. (Usually). This year I have been doing a lot of embrodiery so sometimes I listen to the books. The last book I actually read was “What Alice Forgot.” I really enjoyed that one.

  13. Your superpower could be mine too. I also love to read all kind of books, mostly not in my language Swedish but in English. It is a good thing to keep a foreign language. I have never tried to listen to a book, maybe I should try it out.
    Thanks for sharing your superpower.

  14. Have to agree that reading is a wonderful super power to have. One of my favourite old friends is Mrs Pollifax in a series by Dorothy Gilman.
    valspierssews

  15. I adore books – I’m currently reading Mrs Sinclair’s Suitcase by Louise Walters

  16. I love a good read. I like a good Dan Brown novel.

  17. In a Sunburned Country by Bill Bryson is a great book. I laughed out loud in many places.

  18. I used to do a lot of reading, but haven’t done much recently. So I’d say your superpower is one we should all strive to have! Your reading mini-quilt is wonderful.

  19. Your mini quilt is adorable! I did not read a lot while growing up… I was one of those who for a book report in high school, would read the first, middle and last chapter and make my report. I always got an A so it worked. ha! But fast forward to my late 20’s and I took up reading in a way I would have never expected. That lasted for about 10 years and then I slowed down again. Then in my early 40’s I started reading the Outlander novels by Diana Gabaldon and in 6 months time, I read 5 books that were 900+ pages each! My eyes about bugged out! I am still reading novels… love a trilogy… one book is about like a Lays potato chip… it isn’t quite enough, so I like to read something that carries on in to another book or two.

    Thanks for sharing your love of books!

  20. Lovely!! Now I am not a reader, but I do love books! There is nothing like a beautiful book shelf full of wonderful books!!

  21. ahhhh me too I am a reader..and we do have a pretty big library…soooo I adore your piece…YOU GOT the memo….lol YOU have superpowers….and I am reading a book about Mary Wickes: I Know I’ve Seen That Face Before
    She had superpowers…she knew how to make us laugh…thanks for sharing your passion

  22. Love books but my superpower has taken over and they have taken a back seat!!

  23. Iwould have to say the Reading is also my superpower. Since the Kindel, I have over 300 books that I have read and this is under 1 2/2 years with it. I would have boxies of boxies of books in the house and at work. People would call me the Book Lady, they never seem to see me with out one. I love reading romance and Sience fiction, vampirs and such.

  24. Love your project and I think your book choices are great, I am a hopeless addict of Pride and Prejudice and also loved The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

  25. I’m an avid reader too – mysteries are my favorite but The Host is one of my all time favorite books. I just finished a small wall quilt of a quilt with a girl under it reading a book. I embroidered on it, “So Many Books, So Little Time.” It’s from Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. 7. Have a great weekend!

  26. What a great super power to have. I think mine is books, too. Lately, I have been trying like crazy to get my books from the library so my other super power (fabric collecting) has more power.

  27. I love to read, too. I have tons of books and enjoy them all. My favorite are mysteries and murder, but I also enjoy a little romance every now and then. Oh-who am I kidding? I love to read anything and everything. James Patterson is one of my favorite authors.

  28. Your mini quilt is so sweet and shows off a great superpower we all should have. I love to read and my Kindle is always close by for me to disappear into a good book. I’m a fan of mysteries of all sorts. Thanks for sharing your superpower!

  29. Books are very important to me and I treasure them. I buy books and I go to the library twice a week and have list of books I still want to read. My favorite is biographies but currently I am reading a mystery book. My favorite book is “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn”.

  30. Oh, your little wall hanging is perfect for your library! I am also an avid reader and had thousands of books before the fire. Thank goodness for Kindles, I was able to get lost in my books without missing.a beat!

  31. I love to read as well. My favorite book is Standing Under the Rainbow by Fannie Flagg. Thanks!

  32. I love to read as well, I have never met a book that I didn’t enjoy! I love Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone alphabet mysteries, my mom got me hooked on them when I was in high school and I am finishing them for her.

  33. Yep, my bookcases look just like yours — and that’s just the way I want them. When I see shelves on the DIY programs and they have one or two books on a shelf and a vase on another shelf I always think what a waste because I want all the shelves FULL of books, lol. Love your little quilted embroidery!

  34. Great job! I love reading too. Fun.

  35. Beth…If I had to choose between a book or fabric…I must admit it would be the fabric but I would take a ‘quilting book’ off the shelf. My DH reads everyday…he has quite a collection of hard covered books and books on his reader. The wall hanging is perfect for your library…thanks for revealing your superpower…it is a great one, I know I should take the time to read a good book!! Happy stitching, Pauline

  36. Reading is an awesome superpower! I like Atlas Shrugged.

  37. Reading is a great super power for your mini quilt!

  38. Nice idea, I love real books as well and my kiddies could spend the whole day on the sofa listening to wonderful stories, dragons, dinosaurs but NO princess, my 3 boys are quite sure about this…. LOL

  39. Reading, what a wonderful superpower. We have just found Peter baldacci books that we are enjoying.

  40. Reading is pretty high on my list of favorite things to do. I love reading “cozies” right now; although, historical fiction is also a favorite. I have recently been reading a series by Cavanaugh – “The Puritans,” The Colonists,” “The Patriots.”

  41. Reading just might be my super power, too, if you judge me by my stacks of books and magazines. And like you, I keep going back to Harry Potter and the gang whenever there’s time. Love your wall hanging!

  42. Great project. i love to read, too. thanks for sharing

  43. I am waiting with baited breath for the new installment of the Outlander series by Dianna Gabaldon. Thanks for sharing.

  44. I love reading too! One book I can’t seem to get out of my mind is Water for Elephants. I read it over 3 years ago. I think I need to read it again.

  45. I love your super power. I grew up in a house like yours, top to bottom with books. Actually when my dad died I found the attic steps full of books each step filled 5 across and stacked 10 high.

  46. How fun your quilt is with Reading as your SuperPower. Thank you sew very much for Hopping and sharing…

  47. Reading is the best superpower. You can go anywhere, anytime, do anything and meet everyone! And you don’t have to leave home! Great job on your mini.

  48. I think my all time favorite book is “The Last Lecture.” But there are so many other good books I’ve read, it’s hard to limit it to one.

  49. I have always loved The Secret Garden…it was a favorite long before the movies, the plays, etc. Always good for a re-read, just like Harry Potter!

  50. My favorite book? Usually whichever one I am currently reading. Right now I am reading Armed and Outrageous by Madison Johns, but a book I will read over and over again? Outlander by Diana Galbadon, while normally I do not read romance novels this one I fell in love with and have read it over and over. Your little quilt is fabulous

  51. I love reading too! and have a ton of books also, but I don’t get much reading done with 2 little kids nowadays. Have you read anything from the Divergent Trilogy, it got me hooked really fast and they are coming out with a movie in a few months.

  52. I love Stephen King. 🙂
    craftyccain@gmail.com

  53. Getting lost in a good book can be my downfall – hours get away from me! When we downsized I got rid of most of my books but thank goodness for Kindle! blessings, marlene

  54. I’m a big kid so my favourite book is by Roald Dahl. I love Fantastic Mr Fox! I really love all of his books. (I do read grown up books too sometimes) 🙂

  55. Hard to pick one, but Of Mice and Men by Steinbeck. I cried my eyes out.

  56. My favorite books are currently Dorothy Sayers’ Lord Peter Wimsey Series! Thanks for the giveaway! sarah@forrussia.org

  57. I too love to read, and just recently got back into it. My favorite book is “The Pearls of Lutra” by Brian Jacques which is part of his Redwall series. I enjoy all the books, but that one is my favorite, and probably because it was the first one I read. Thank you for sharing the book block!
    ~Brandy

  58. Where would we be without books? Almost as necessary as water, and what a nourishment to the soul! Keep on with your passion.

  59. Excellent super power. One that many more should have!

  60. Reading is a great superpower. You’ve shown that with your lovely stitches and words… Hey, your blog name sure shows your superpowers.

  61. Reading is a wonderful superpower to have! Thank goodness we have a great library or I’d be having to move cuz there’d be too many books for the house!! lol 29 Gifts by Cami Walker was recommended to me. I just picked it up and am looking forward to the read.

  62. I share your super power, truly, and in addition to the books I buy (fewer these days), I am a huge patron of our public library. I often think my favorite book is the one I’m reading right now, but I do have a few dozen favorites that would be difficult to list in this comment, so I’ll choose one from the beginning of the alphabet — The Annotated Alice In Wonderland.

  63. What a lovely was to showcase your superpower. It’s beautiful.

  64. We share the same superpower!! I love books more than anything else and have bookcases all over too. At the moment my favourite books are the Inspector Gamache series by Louise Penny as I love mysteries.

  65. That’s a great superpower! All five of us are big readers and I’ve sometimes joked that it looks like a bookstore exploded in our livingroom…books and magazines everywhere! Recently I’ve really enjoyed The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. Also The Wednesday Letters, by Jason F. Wright.

  66. Where would we be without books? My daughter has them stacked everywhere in her house. She is working on her Masters in Library Science and always has a book with her. She has always been an avid reader. She also is the librarian for 5 school libraries. My husband and I read all of the time, too. It is such a great hobby. My favorite books is The Glass Castle.

  67. I don’t read a lot for pleasure these days, but an old favorite is definitely the Hobbit.

  68. I love to read. One of my old favorites is Jane Eyre and I love Sherlock Holmes. I love your embroidery project. Great job.

  69. I go through spurts and spells of reading. As a child, we had no television until I was nine. Every night, each of us took a book to bed. I loved to read. Then I had some English teachers that absolutely ruined my love of reading. We had to read for details for standardized tests. I remember one book, the question asked the color of a horse in the book. It certainly wasn’t an important fact. Tending to try to be a perfectionist, I was frustrated and grew to dislike reading. Then I had a good friend who read and read, so I started reading again and loved it. I had to read tons when I was in a PhD program (no I had to quit due to health). I enjoy reading and haven’t read much since my husband died less than a year ago. He loved to read, too. I find doing some of the things we each enjoyed very difficult. It is getting easier with time. I still have all my books from my PhD program. I am thrilled to see that you are instilling a love of reading in your family. I try to read with my grandsons every time I see them. I want them to love to read – their mother doesn’t like reading. She’s a math teacher and prefers numbers. Thanks for participating.

  70. Love your stitching … the books are wonderful! I too love books … and am inspired by your wall hanging 🙂 Harry Potter books are sitting in my room next to my bed and have to agree with you that they are go-to books 🙂 Thank you for sharing!!

  71. Lovely wall hanging! Such beautiful stitch work!

  72. I love that mini quilt. It’s adorable and says it all. I like reading as well as stitching.

  73. What a cute superpowered wallhanging, Beth! Perfect choice from your description. I love to read but some days it is all I can do to get through the local paper. However, I recently got a little tablet and have a Kindle app installed and buzzed through an e-book thru our library system called camellia dot net, named after Alabama’s state flower. Easier than reading on my desktop!

  74. Thx for the giveaway opportunity, forgive my bad manners.

  75. I love reading too, but it seems I only get to do it on vacation. Last summer, I read 5 books in 7 days! I love the Outlander series and the Cinder/Scarlet/Cress series, on the waiting list for Cress and the newest Diana Gabaldon at the library – wouldn’t it be great if I got one of them for vacation! I also love to read books for kids and young adults.

  76. I used to love to read but as I get older I find I have less time for it. I read the Bible and I do check out a lot of decorating books from the library.

  77. Bonnie L. Browne

    I also love to read. I’m at the library every week for 3 or 4 books. Love Nora Roberts/JD Robb, Stephen King, Dean Koontz and right now I have some how gotten hooked on the Amish books. I would love to have all of your bookshelves. I just don’t have the room to have a lot of books of my own. Thanks for the chance to win.

  78. Lovely project! Thanks for the chance to win!

  79. A fantastic superpower! Love your wallhanging! I just finished reading The Invention of Wings – loved it!

  80. I enjoy Sue Grafton and Janet Evanovich ‘s books.

  81. Fantastic block!! Another reader!! I love that superpower. It’s a good thing we don’t live close by, you would never get rid of me. Just give me a book and a corner, and I will be the disappearing house guest 🙂

    -Soma

Leave a Reply

