Some Winners and a Pair of Finishes

Snuffle, snort, sigh, sneeze…someone pass me a tissue, please?
Ah, the dangers of working around kids and then working in the candy shop for Valentine’s…I caught the dreaded cold that was going around! I worked until 11 on the Friday night of Valentine’s Day and then woke up Saturday with a full-blown head cold. On the plus side, colds call for tea, many, many cups of tea and my older daughter brought me a lovely box of tea from England. I love drinking my tea from a little Winnie the Pooh mug the girls got me for Christmas one year. The graphics and the memory of their thoughtfulness both seem to make the tea even more sweet!
In the tangle of extra job and head cold, I’ve got three winners to announce. Mr. Random has pulled a winner for “She Who Sews,” “Hugs & Kisses” and for the “Grow Your Blog Hop.” They are Carol for “She Who Sews,” Lyn for “Grow Your Blog,” and Marlene for the “Hugs & Kisses” hop.  I’ve sent each of them an email to get their addresses so I can send off fabric prizes.

I’ve managed a pair of finishes, one of which is my alternate February finish for the “Lovely Year of Finishes, 2014.”  My oldest daughter is at the age where her friends are marrying and having babies.  A few months ago, I saw this adorable Toy Story print on the remant table at Fabric Depot.  There’s a baby boy on the way so I decided to make this.

DSCN2793DSCN2792

Also, I’ve been working this weekend on quilting a lovely, Paris-themed throw that a friend pieced. In between working on that, I’ve pillowcase turned this little doll quilt for my guild’s charity projects. I picked up two kits for lap robes at guild last time and then used them to practice my treadle piecing. I’m debating doing the pillowcase turn on them, too, as the kits didn’t provide binding and the color scheme is limited. I may just resort to a red binding as it always looks good with blue. The doll quilt is a small-scale version of the lap quilts, made with the scraps leftover. Unfortunately, the photo of the quilt, which I took on my phone (along with Mr. Random’s results) won’t transfer over to the computer.  But don’t worry, Gizmo is looking into it.

1390841045608
Next on my to-do list is my Jamestown Landing. We’ll see how I do with finishing that one.  I’m only goaling for the flimsy stage.  There are still a few days of February left and I’ll try to make them count!

I’m linking this up to a Lovely Year of Finishes.

2 responses to “Some Winners and a Pair of Finishes

  1. Great finish and I hope you are feeling better!

  2. That’s a very cute baby quilt. I have some Batman fabric I need to make into a baby quilt, I just may use your idea! Congrats on getting it done.

Leave a Reply

