“Little Joe” is a Quiet Story That Fell a Tad Flat

cover30621-medium“Little Joe” is the story of a young boy who is the only survivor of a devastating accident. Both his parents are lost and he begins a new life with his grandparents in Tennessee. While the story is well-written, it simply never really grabbed me. It wasn’t that it wasn’t interesting but somehow it just lacked a certain zing that I look for in a novel. Now, that isn’t to say that I didn’t enjoy it but it’s not a “tell all your friends to rush right out and read this” kind of book. There are several touching moments as this young man learns to adjust to a new life with his aging grandparents and they adjust to having a youngster in the house. Surprisingly, I read the second book the series, “The Trial of Doctor Kate” and was much more impressed.
So, while I can’t give this book an “I love it” rating, it wasn’t bad and if you’re looking for a quiet book good for a winter afternoon’s reading, you may really enjoy this one.
This book was provided to me by the publisher for this review. The opinions, however, are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

