If You Love Downton Abbey, You’ll Adore “Lady Catherine, the Earl, and the Real Downton Abbey”

9780385344968_78f31
If you, like me, watch enthralled as each new episode of “Downton Abbey” arrives, you’ll love this book written by the current Countess of Carnarvon. This is one of those wonderful books where the facts are almost better than the fiction. Exceptionally well-written and entertaining, “Lady Catherine, the Earl, and the Real Downton Abbey” picks up the story of the Earls of Carnarvon in the early 1920’s and follows the family and the house’s fortunes through the Second World War. Catherine Wendell, an American, met Lord Porchester (later the sixth Earl of Carnarvon) when she was just 19. Not long after their marriage in 1922, Lord Porchester’s father died and they assumed the running of the family home, Highclere (familiar to television fans as the fictional Downton Abbey.) Beset by financial problems, the future of the house was precarious.
“Lady Catherine, the Earl, and the Real Downton Abbey” reads like a wonderful piece of historical fiction, with the added bonus of it being fact. You’ll find yourself enthralled with the intimate details of the efforts of this young couple to save the family home as well as the numerous and charming details of life both above and below stairs at Highclere. Even if you’re not a fan of “Downton Abbey”, this is great piece of history, an intimate account of one family’s experience set against the backdrop of a rapidly changing time.
This book was provided to me by the publisher for this review. The opinions, however, are entirely my own!

Advertisements

2 responses to “If You Love Downton Abbey, You’ll Adore “Lady Catherine, the Earl, and the Real Downton Abbey”

  1. Apparently, you are a woman after my own heart when it comes to reading materials! Thanks for sharing! I will be looking for this book! 🙂

  2. I saw a re-broadcast of the PBS interview with The Earl and Lady Carnarvon this past week and found out a bit of background about Highclere. I bet that this book will be interesting reading! I found out recently that my dad is quite a fan of “Downton Abbey”–something we can talk about and I was able to give him some background he did not know from previous episodes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s