“Rules of Murder” Evokes Jeeves & Wooster (and a Give Away)

rules-of-murder-book-cover
I love period pieces and mysteries so it required no thought when asked if I wanted to review Julianna Deering’s “Rules of Murder.” Dapper Drew Farthering and his faithful friend, Nick, love a good mystery. They know all the rules to good mystery writing…the butler, for instance, is never the bad guy and a good writer should never resort to a “mysterious foreigner.” It seems, however, that when murder comes to call in Drew’s real life that the rules he holds so dear do not apply. With help from his new friend, the lovely Madeline Parker, Drew must discover the secret that caused the elusive killer to strike. Even if that secret may jeopardize his chance at future happiness.
Julianna Deerling brings together a lovely cast of characters for “Rules of Murder.” Fresh and entertaining, this book has a “Miss Marple” quality to it that I thoroughly enjoyed. The conclusion is well done and I would certainly read another. My only criticism would be that there were a tad too many murders for me. I like my “who-dun-its” to focus a little more on the detection than the next murder. Other than that, this was a nice little mystery and all the nicer for the fact that you can pass the book to a high school or middle school reader without wondering how appropriate it is.
This book was provided to me by Bethany House for this review. The opinions, however, are entirely my own!

Giveaway:  Now, through a funny coincidence, I ended up with two copies of “Rules of Murder.”  I’m giving one reader a chance to win my Advanced Reader Copy.  Just leave a comment on this post before Friday, September 6th, 2013 and I’ll draw for a winner.  Unfortunately, with the cost of postage, I’ll have to leave this open to US residents only.

3 responses to ““Rules of Murder” Evokes Jeeves & Wooster (and a Give Away)

  1. Sounds like a good read Beth, Ah too bad I just noticed it is for US residents only but my son lives in Louisiana and is coming here later in September. He would mail it to me anyway if I won.
    love
    Nan

  2. The kind of book I like. Jeeves and Ms Marple are some of my favorites. I would love to win this book. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Ooh! I love me a good murder mystery, especially a la Miss Marple! Whether I win this or not, I’m looking forward to reading this book! Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

