One Hybrid Kindle Cover (aka “Why I Baste Things and Keep My Seam Ripper Handy”)

 

My trusty Kindle developed a flaw in the power port and suddenly, to my great despair, the poor thing wouldn’t charge. Well, I called the nice people at Amazon who sent me a new charger but that didn’t fix it. Since it was out of warranty, they offered me a very nice price on a replacement so I decided to upgrade to an HD model. Then, it turned out to be a very small amount extra to upgrade to the new 8.9″ tablet model so there I went. The real downside of all this (other than the fact that they STILL haven’t gotten my Kindle email re-assigned to my new Kindle) is that it meant I needed a new cover. We tried a couple out at the store and didn’t like what they had so I decided to make another one in the new size.
While trying to find the tutorial I used before, I ran across another one I liked but I decided to mix it together with some of the features I liked in my original cover. Now, please know that ALL the credit for this cover goes to the lovely people at Clover & Violet and Whipstitch who did all the heavy lifting. I just used their combined ideas to make my cover. (Since these are their designs, not mine, you’ll have to head to their sites for things like measurements, etc.)

IMG_20130728_154341

I started by using Clover & Violet’s dimensions, adding a bit extra for quilting and then trimming down to size.

IMG_20130728_160523

Then I cut my first pocket/Kindle holder pieces with measurements from C & V and corners from Whipstitch.  I decided that since this Kindle was bigger, I should just fold the corners in half and top stitch them.

IMG_20130728_161110

Then I sized them on the Kindle and decided I should have done it the other way first!  However, I made it work by turning down and extra 1/4″ on each triangle. (Of course, I’d already basted them in place when I figured out they were too big so out came the seam ripper!  Luckily I use a big basting stitch.)  After modifying my  corners, I re-basted them and sewed the two halves of the pocket piece together (a la Whipstitch.)  I used a tailoring technique for facings called under-stitching to make sure the seam will pull to the underside and not roll back to the top.  That’s the line of top stitching near the seam.

IMG_20130728_163231

Then I interfaced my other pocket for extra stability, added a piece of elastic for a closure (a la Whipstitch), basted the whole thing in place and realized that I basted onto the wrong piece!  (Another appearance of the trusty seam ripper.)

IMG_20130728_165515

At that point, Gizmo was being unbearably cute so we had to stop for a cuddle break.

IMG_20130728_155526

Next, I interfaced a piece of lining the same size as my quilted piece because I didn’t want to have to bind my piece (a la C & V) and instead planned on turning it like a pillow (a la Whipstitch.)    I attached my pocket pieces to the lining the way they should have been the first time (again, very big basting stitches are a good thing) and basted them in place.  I decided against using the elastic because my elastic was so old it had lost most of the stretch and opted for a tab closure (a la C & V.)

IMG_20130728_171325

I put the two pieces right sides together and sewed carefully through all the layers (at the point I was totally over the whole seam ripper thing!)  I turned all the corners but left about six inches of one side open for turning.

IMG_20130728_172508

I blunted the corners.  Then, after using my trusty chopstick to poke the corners out, I pressed like I was trying to really get my point across.

IMG_20130728_172845

Once I was turned and pressed, I hand stitched the opening with a ladder stitch (best stitch ever for hiding the threads in a case like this, in my humble opinion.)

IMG_20130728_173254

And, voila, one hybrid Kindle cover with the help of two awesome bloggers!  (This picture still has the pins in the area to be hand stitched.) A big thank you to Whipstitch and Clover & Violet for sharing their information.  I would have taken weeks (and much more seam ripper time) without their help.  If you haven’t been to their blogs, I encourage you to check them out…who knows, maybe you have a reader of your own just crying out for a custom cover?

One response to “One Hybrid Kindle Cover (aka “Why I Baste Things and Keep My Seam Ripper Handy”)

  1. Debby Polhill

    Very timely. I’ve been looking for a kindle cover idea for days. This looks great and I’m going to try it!

Leave a Reply

