“Stamp On It” Blog Hop (My Day and a Giveaway)

Well, here I am on Day One of the Blog Hop and I can hardly wait to see what everyone has come up with (I’m a little nervous, too, about how my “stamp” will measure up!) I was having a little trouble getting started with this one. I played with a few ideas  but finally decided to do a “postage stamp postage stamp.” I mapped out my idea on my trusty EQ but, as often happens in my brain, I totally missed on the math and it didn’t sink in until I went to sew how many 1.5″ squares it takes to make a 15″x15″ finished square (225 in case you’re wondering.)

I decided to use my town, Oregon City, as my inspiration.  Oregon City is on the banks of the Willamette River and one of the river’s landmarks (rivermarks?) is the beautiful Willamette Falls.  Now, you may remember that we attended the bridge reopening of the historic bridge and, yes, I left it out of the stamp. (You can see a photo of the falls and some of the bridge here.)  I contemplated fusing it on top of the river but with all those seams, I thought it might end up looking like it was crumbling!  I had my city and state letters cut out when I realized there wasn’t a die-cut for the numbers and the cent symbol so I planned to use my embroidery machine.  Turns out, there’s no cent symbol there, either, so I used my favorite “c” from my years studying French.  My stamp is a 2-cent stamp as everyone who knows me knows I love to put in my 2-cents!  So, here’s my Oregon City Stamp (with photo help from my younger daughter.)

DSCN1418

Now, on to the giveaway.  Since I live in the Pacific Northwest, I have a 1/2-yard piece of “North by Northwest” by Thimbleberries to send to one reader.  Nothing tricky, you don’t have to be a follower, just leave a comment about where you live.  I’ll have Mr. Random draw for me when the hop is over.

DSCN1435

There is a terrific line-up for this hop and I hope you’ll be able to make it to everyone.  As always, my thanks to the wonderful Madam Samm and  to Thearica for all the work and care that goes into these blog hops!

Happy quilting,

Beth

(Just a quick change to update the schedule.)

99 responses to ““Stamp On It” Blog Hop (My Day and a Giveaway)

  1. barbara woods

    From georgia

  2. Just north of you in Washington 🙂 Love your falls!!!

  3. I live in Oklahoma. Thanks for the giveaway!

  4. Oooh, well done! I live in Ottawa, Ontario. Thanks for the giveaway!

  5. I am in NC! I almost used the postage stamp pattern too but decided to just do something on black. Love your stamp!

  6. I love your Oregon Stamp, but your picture is gorgeous with the Hydrangeas! Great job!
    And I live in Georgia!

  7. Great stamp! I live in California. Judy B

  8. Love the stamp. so many little pieces. great job.
    Eastern Washington.

  9. Lovely stamp!
    I’ll be in Oklahoma the following month.

  10. Love your stamp! It captures the falls so well. By the way, I live upriver from you – near the headwaters of the Willamette! 😉

  11. Reblogged this on dawnmariew19 and commented:
    **************************
    Thought I would check out this “blog hop”. Reposting this because it looks fun, so hop with me. 🙂

  12. Great and lovely little stamp quilt!

  13. Your Oregon stamp is just perfect…I hope you had a great time creating it..I live in Chattanooga,Tn.

  14. Your stamp turned out lovely …no need to worry anymore 🙂

  15. Wow! So many tiny pieces! Very well done! Greetings from Oakley, IL!

  16. Very pretty stamp. Love the way you pieced it.

  17. Your stamp is very beautiful. And your work on it is outstanding.
    Thanks for sharing your creativity and for a great give away

  18. What a great idea and execution for your stamp; just gorgeous! I live in Massachusetts.

  19. Manitoulin Island Ontario… I love the piecing.

  20. Lovely stamp. I live in St. John’s, Newfoundland, Canada

  21. I love your Oregon stamp. We lived in Oregon for about the first 10 years of my life. I love it there. I’m not sure I could come up with a Blue Springs, MO stamp. Maybe instead of water it could be just blue springs all over the top. Too early here, not enough coffee. Have a wonderful time on the hope – your entry is great!

  22. your stamp is gorgeous and so are your hydrangeas….you will see why soon wink

  23. p.s ontario canada

  24. WOW. Great job. Thanks for sharing.

  25. Oppps. Ontario Canada (must be something in the air up herr. LOL)

  26. Love it!! we lived in Oregon eons ago…..it is such a gorgeous place!!….splendid work!

  27. I just love your version of the stamp….wonderful job!!!Thank you for the giveaway also.

  28. WOW! Simply breathatking! Love it

  29. Glad you put your 2 cents into this blog…. love your stamp and thanks for the giveaway!

  30. Many pieces = a great stamp! Looks beautiful 🙂

  31. Your stamp is beautiful and amazing with so many tiny squares…wow…love it!

  32. Love your little Oregon City stamp. I live in Brisbane ,Queensland, Australia.
    Thanks for the chance to win the lovely fabric.
    lyn.robyn.smith@gmail.com

  33. ND is checking in thanks

    love your stamp and thanks for the giveaway

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  34. Beautiful, such little tiny squares, lovely!

  35. How beautiful! You did a great job on your stamp!

  36. Rose Marie Andreozzi

    I love little quilts and yours is precious! I live in Chino Valley, AZ.

  37. Gorgeous. Love the hydrangea.
    I live in Ontario, Canada.

  38. Your Oregon stamp is well done and I just love it. I am from Washington, DC .

  39. connandvansmom

    Great job on the Oregon stamp project. I live in a very small rural town in South Carolina.

  40. love this quilt – I live in Manchester, NH and we have a small falls on the Merrimack River that goes thru the center of the city – it’s the result of a dam that was built after “the great flood of 1936” that wiped out a couple of the bridges and caused the others to be closed.

  41. So pretty and the hydrangeas in the photo are beautiful too.

  42. Your stamp is very pretty and I live about 2 1/2 hours south of you. We go by you once a year on our trip to eastern Oregon and know the area you have on your stamp. Enjoy stopping at the little pull off and looking down at the river. Take Care!

  43. Wow that’s a bunch of itty bitty squares:) Great job as the finished project was worth it!
    I live in Texas:)

  44. Bonnie Larson

    Love the stamp. It is so cute. Thanks so much for sharing.

  45. Sandra Davidson

    Love your stamp all of those tiny squares and it looks beautiful beside the hydrangeas . I live in Stratford Ontario Ca.

  46. Yah, what’s up with no cent sign!!!!
    Wow, wow, is all I can say about your stamp. What a fabulous job you did. You can add your 2 cents, anytime you like!

  47. Very pretty stamp. I live in west chester, home of QVC!

  48. Love the representation of Oregon City. I was lucky enough to visit your fair state about 4 yrs ago and met with some internet friends I have had since 98. I would still mispronounce Williamette if I were attempt it now—saying more like a town in IL. I am from NE Central Alabama now but by way of central Illinois, born and mostly raised in that state.

  49. Hi hi Beth! I live up river from you – In Lebanon (actually on the Santiam, but I work in Corvallis so it works :o)) The stamp definitely makes me think of the Willamette Valley, even though it has been raining and raining, the green is worth it! Thanks for hopping with us :o)

  50. Congratulations on creating a terrific stamp , that is a lot of squares . Greetings from Nova Scotia 🙂

  51. I love your stamp and the rendition of the waterfall. It reminds me of a watercolor quilt which is fitting for a waterfall. I live in Michigan.

    Thanks for sharing and the chance to win.

  52. Quilting Tangent

    I’m from the North East.

  53. Love the content of the quilt, and all of your inspirations–not to mention your humor!!! I live in SE PDX, but used to live in the OC for a brief time.

  54. Love your tribute to Oregon. I live just “down the road” from you in northern California.

  55. Lovely waterfall. I’m from Central NJ, USA. . Thanks for the chance

  56. I love your stamp….what a great idea.

  57. Shauna Trueblood

    I’m in Texas!!! Thanks for the chance!! Love your stamp

  58. Let me add my 2 cents. It is gorgeous–beautiful work and perfect photography.

  59. The name of the fabric you’re giving away reminded me that Kandye West and one of the Kardasians who just had a baby named her North West…if you can believe that. At least that’s what I heard on the radio! Beautiful work on your stamp.

  60. Beautiful stamp. Such delicate work.

  61. Nice stamp. I live in NC, I visited out west several years ago. I would like to do it again hopefully next year.

  62. Gorgeous!
    I’m in England (watching the tennis!!)

  63. Love your stamp! What a great job you did.

  64. Wow! it is beautiful! Oregon is one of the few states I havent made it to yet- and it is on top of my list! I love Oregon’s history! I live in Northern Illinois in the itty bitty town of Amboy (just south of Oregon Illinois – I usta live there)

  65. Congrats on being a top pick of the day! Great work on your project.

  66. Congratulations on your day win. Beautiful stamp.

  67. Love the colors and the fabric

  68. Terrific stamp.(that is a LOT of tinysquares!).
    Congrats on being one of the chosen.
    I’ve lived in Chicago Astra most of my life, with a few years in the Seattle area,but now I call the Houston area home.

  69. Annette Schultz

    what a great idea to use postage stamp blocks to make you stamp …. I can see that you have a lot of patients, to work with those little squares.
    thanks for sharing and the give away too.
    in stitches

  70. WOW!! it is wonderful! Congrats. on top picks.

  71. I am taking a stroll through everyone’s blogs to be sure that you all change Sew many yarns to July 1 on any schedule you may have posted on your blog. Thanks for taking the time to do that. 🙂

  72. Beautiful stamp! I live in Illinois.

  73. What a cool stamp! I am from Oregon, grew up outside of Gresham. I am a transplant to Michigan, but miss the Pacific Northwest./

  74. Love your beautiful colors!!

  75. Rebecca Coyle

    Your stamp is beautiful! I live in Mississippi.

  76. I love your stamp and how the hydrangeas match it perfectly. Just beautiful! 🙂

  77. So clever to use a postage stamp quilt for your postage stamp — love it!

  78. Margaret Parks

    Great Job! I live in Maine and it is so beautiful here, Rocky coast, similar to Oregon.

  79. Great job. Love the colors!

  80. I’m in Massachusetts, a long way from Oregon. Your stamp looks great. I wish stamps were 2 cents again.

  81. I love your Oregon Stamp. Very nice!

  82. I love your Oregon stamp. Very eye-catching. I live in beautiful Winston-Salem, NC. Our city is made up of two ‘towns’ that joined forces 100 years ago to create one metropolitan area. We are home to Hanes Hosiery as well as Hanes Knitting (underwear and socks), R. J. Reynolds (Winston, Salem, Camel cigarettes and Prince Albert smoking tobacco), as well as Bowman Gray School of Medicine, Wake Forest University, and the North Carolina School of the Arts. More information than you wanted, but thanks for the opportunity.

  83. I live in Minnesota and spend much of the summer in Wisconsin at our lake cabin. Love your postage stamp project…I’m currently finishing a postage stamp wall hanging with almost 1,000 pieces! I will be happy when it is finished. Thanks for letting us know about this hop.

  84. Hello, I live in the magic mitten of Michigan. Thank you.
    (smjohns63 ay yahoo dot com)

  85. Your stamp is just a neat as can be! Loved the colors you chose. I did chuckle about “your 2cents worth” comment!

  86. Bonnie Pfrimmer

    What a lovely stamp. Thank you for sharing.. Only day 1 and everyone did a fine job.

  87. Very lovely stamp. great job with such tiny pieces. I live in Pennsylvania.

  88. Lovely country that you live in, thanks for the chance to win some nice fabric

  89. I also live in the Pacific Northwest; WA state. Your stamp looks great!

  90. Jenelle Boxberger

    we lived in Portland, OR for 22 years and just moved to central Kansas. Love your project.

  91. I live in a small town north of Lake Superior in Canada.

  92. I live in southern Manitoba, Canada. 🙂

  93. Wonderful – enjoy the hop & thanks for the giveaway !!

  94. Love your stamp. Thanks for sharing with us. I live in southeast
    Missouri.

  95. From right up the road a bit in Happy Valley, OR! You did a beautiful job representing the falls. 🙂

  96. Love your little stamp with all those tiny pieces. I checked out the pics of the bridge and I am impressed with the detail as most designs these days for new/replacement structures don’t include nice little features (new Bay Bridge “boondoggle” in our SFBay Area!). Thanks for sharing.

  97. That is a VERY pretty stamp!

Leave a Reply

