“Say it With Flowers” (and a giveaway)

Since the theme of the blog hop was “Say it With Flowers” and since I’ve always been fascinated by the Victorians and their language of flowers in which every flower had a meaning, I thought I’d look around my garden and see what it was saying to me.  I’ve always loved the idea of bouquets of flowers carrying secret messages to their intended recipients.  (These are flower meanings I found here.)

DSCN1397

Calla Lily = Magnificent Beauty

DSCN1398

Hydrangea = Thank you for understanding, frigidity, heartlessness

Pale pink roses = grace or joy

Pale pink roses = grace or joy

Hmmm, the Hydrangea seems to have a bit of a split personality, doesn’t it?  Well, when it came to making my project for this blog hop, I must admit I was a bit down in the dumps.  I’d been housebound for a couple of weeks since my sprain and frankly, I was bored, tired and frustrated.  So, I decided to use that as my inspiration.  I’m not blue very often and I knew I needed to pull myself up by my emotional bootstraps so I printed out Carol Doak’s block “Pat’s Lily Basket” and surveyed the mess on my sewing table for a color scheme.  I pulled just one fabric from my shelves (the background) and made this table runner…”Out of the Blues and into the Pinks.”

DSCN1402As it always happens, the very act of playing with fabric lifted my spirits and made everything seem brighter.  After all, who needs to drive if you can sew?

I also took the opportunity to try out another one of Leah Day’s filler quilting patterns.  This one is called Rose Spiral, I think.

DSCN1404I love how it gives a soft, flowery feel to the background.  I admit, I had to sketch this one a few times before I got the feel for it but I love how it worked out!

And, on to the giveaway.  I’ve got two fat quarters of these lovely florals for one winner chosen by Mr. Random. 

DSCN1405

All I ask is that you leave a comment.  Perhaps the name of your favorite flower?  Then, do be sure to hop on over to the rest of today’s “florists” and see what they have going on.  And, of course, my thanks to the wonderful Carol  and Madam Samm for putting all this fun together for us, you ladies are spectacular!

June 4th
 
77 responses to ““Say it With Flowers” (and a giveaway)

  1. Love your version of “Pat’s Lily”. I have also sprained my ankle and have been house bound. But it is difficult to sew with my leg elevated and iced. so I do hand sewing for awhile – Grandmother’s Flower Garden!

  2. Your Lilly Basket table runner is lovely. Hydrangea is one of my favorite flowers but it does seem to have a split personality. It is hard to be house bound but if you can sew things aren’t all bad.

  3. Love your paper pieced lilies! Thank you for sharing. Favorite flower is Bird of Paradise, so colorful.

  4. Your tabelrunner is very nice ! My favorite flower is the sunflower, there are growing many of them in my garden this year. Greetings from Germany!

  5. Love your Lily Baskets…they are just precious! Thanks for sharing. Hope you’re up and about soon…but I’d rather be sewing than driving any day!

  6. Your Lily baskets are so lovely. My favorite flower is the tulip a messenger of Spring here in Sweden
    Thanks for sharing

  7. Oh this is easy! The PEONY is my favorite! I have them right now in a vase!

  8. Your paper-pieced Lily Baskets are lovely, hope you are up and running again soon.

    You can’t beat sunflowers for making you smile 🙂

  9. Love the lily it is may favorite flower

  10. wow so pretty…baskets with pp…is a hit….and your flowers..bring such sunshine this morning

  11. Honeysuckles and Lilacs are my favorites. I like your Lily baskets, so pretty. Thanks for sharing them and for the giveaway. vickise at gmail dot com

  12. The lily baskets are cute. Loved the meaning different flowers have. My favorite flower is lilacs because they are in bloom right now and their scent id wonderful.

  13. Very pretty. I hope you are out and about soon.

  14. I love your table runner… very, very cute 🙂 My favorite flower is the sunflower.

  15. That lily basket is fantastic! I need one of those!

    My favorite flower is the tulip. Voles eat ours so it is useless to plant them so I go in to town each week and take a detour to visit a house that has a yard full!

  16. Very nice runner. I asked the same question trying to fine what would be nice to plant in my flower garden. I am terrible with the names but I sure love those purple bushes that only last a few weeks in the spring. The last of my blossoms are just about gone. Thanks for having a give away.

  17. Joyce Mitchell

    Lovely lily project – thanks for sharing. My favorite flower is grape hyacinth. Thanks for the chance to win.

  18. That’s a pretty runner. Nice quilting too. I love sunflowers and echinacea.

  19. Nice table runner. I like deep red poppies.

  20. I love your hydrangeas. That is my favorite flower and I have several that I rooted from one plant.

  21. Bonnie Larson

    Love the lily basket. It’s great.Thanks for sharing.

  22. Oh nice!! Love your projects…thank you for the giveaway. \i love the Iris

  23. I love carnations. Have always been my fave

  24. Great flowers and projects. Housebound is never fun but your found a way to make it better.

  25. Beautiful sunny table runner. Love the colors.

  26. Your projects are super wondeful….My favorite flowers are Indian paint brush.

  27. Such a beautiful table runner and those flowers are gorgeous! Thanks for hopping with us! :O)

  28. Beautiful work! I love tulips and forget me nots. Thanks for the chance to win.

  29. Very pretty baskets of flowers. I love the background you used. My favorite flower is the daffodil. I am glad the sewing helped your mood. I find that it does it for me all the time.

  30. I love all kinds of flowers. My favorite oftens tends to be what is currently in bloom. At my house that is Irises. My peonies have buds just waiting to open.

  31. I love to see everybody’s work, thank you for sharing your runner. My favourite flower depends on the time of year, I adore snowdrops and poppies too.

  32. Love your table runner. The pattern is perfect.

  33. What a pretty table runner 🙂 My favourite flowers are tulips.

  34. Your lily runner is fantastic, from the fabric choices, the pretty blocks and the wonderful quilting. I hope you will not be laid up for much longer. My fav flowers is the gardenia; our bush should be opening up any day now. THX for a chance at your giveaway. Someone is going to be quite happy with the bright and cheerful fabric.

  35. Beautiful, just beautiful. Don’t you just love Leah Day’s quilting?

  36. You do wonderful work. I really like your lily basket. My favorite flower is the peony.

  37. Your lily basket is too cute! great job

  38. Beautiful runner! I love the colours!
    My favourite flower is the sweet pea
    Thank you for sharing!

  39. Your runner is sooo sweeet! I like the colors what a great project. I truly need to learn paper piecing. My favorite flowers is the rose.

  40. My favorite is Bleeding Hearts. thanks

  41. Beautiful blocks, My favorite flowers are lilies!
    (smjohns63 at yahoo dot com)

  42. My favorite flowers are Bluebonnets. Hydrangeas, and Gerber Daisies:)

  43. Margaret Parks

    Oh my, that Lilly basket is just beautiful! Lovely work.
    thanks for sharing.
    cheers
    maggie
    maggiemine42@gmail.com

  44. beautiful table runner. I love roses. thanks

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  45. connandvansmom

    Beautiful project. Love your flower pictures as well .Here lately i have really been loving hydrangeas and wisteria

  46. Great mini quilt. Love the choice of colors. Thanks for the chance to win!

  47. Your Calla Lilies are amazing !!!
    my favorite flower is the daisy 🙂

  48. Love your table-runner! My favorite flowers are tulips and peonies. 🙂

  49. A super sweet table runner! Thanks for sharing!

  50. Lovely flower basket runner! Who wouldn’t be cheered up when they see this!

  51. Pretty table runner. My fav flower is the daisy.

  52. Love your table runner!
    My favourite flower is the poppy.
    Thanks for giving a chance to win in your give away.
    Cheers,

    Jeanneke.

  53. Beautiful tablerunner, beautiful work!
    I love sunflowers, thanks for the chance to win ☺
    Bente

  54. Very pretty runner! I like Carol Doak’s patterns. She did a trunk show at my local guild many,,,years ago. Very nice lady. Thanks for sharing your project.

  55. Love your baskets of flowers and your Hydrangeas are beautiful.

  56. What a lovely table runner. I really like the pattern, and you did a beautiful job piecing and quilting it. Your flower pictures are beautiful. I love so many different flowers but especially the Virginia bluebells that bloom here in Illinois in the spring.

  57. Bonnie Pfrimmer

    I liked the runner, it is so colorful and bright. Thank you for sharing with us today.

  58. Lovely flower baskets. Love the fabrics you chose. Such bright, pretty colors!

  59. Thank you for sharing your Beautiful flowers! And your tablerunner too!
    My favorite flower is definitely the Lilac bushes. 🙂

  60. Lovely summer table runner. Beautifully quilted.

  61. Sandra Davidson

    The lily basket is so sweet, love the fabrics.

  62. Your lilies are beautiful. I love so many flowers, it would be hard to pick a favorite .

  63. Beautiful! Love the paper piecing!

  64. Your lily quilt is lovely! Thanks for sharing! My favorite flower is an iris.

  65. What a wonderful table runner – so cheerful and pretty! My favourite flowers are peonies.

  66. great work!! thanks for sharing

  67. That is simply beautiful. Glad it turned your frown upside down. Hope your sprain feels better soon. 🙂

  68. A lovely runner, I love calla lilies, but we don’t really have them here so my new fav. has become my hyacinths in spring.

  69. Loved your flowers. My favorite is the rose! Calla Lillies are a bit different.

  70. I am a fan of gerber daisies and lilies. Oh and violets too. thanks for the chance to win.

  71. Wow, how do I choose a favorite flower? Perhaps daisies or lilies of the valley… I sure like your table runner–the background fabric adds to its beauty.

  72. How beautiful! I do hope you’re feeling better now!

  73. Love your flower basket runner ! Isn’t it great that sewing can lift your spirits? 🙂

  74. Pingback: The Winner for the “Say It With Flowers Blog Hop” | Words & Stitches

Leave a Reply

