Memorial Day

I live in a small town…well, it’s small to me after growing up in Southern California. It’s grown from 19,000 people to nearly 30,000 in the sixteen years I’ve lived here but that’s still small in my mind.  Oregon City is also steeped in history. We are (although the Dalles fight us for it) the official End of the Oregon Trail and Oregon City was formerly the territorial capital of the entire Oregon Territory.  In fact, when San Francisco incorporated they had to file their plat maps with us…and we still have them in our museum.  (It’s rumored that San Francisco asked for them back and we said “no.”)  Anyway, one of the things I love about living in a smaller town is the traditions.  Memorial Day is celebrated at the Pioneer Cemetery each year with one of the school bands, the Boy Scouts, the ROTC, guest speakers, our police and fire department representatives and local pastors.  Floral arrangements are placed and speeches are given.  In the eight years or so that I’ve attended, the weather has been pretty good.  This year, not so much.  Even though the weather was cold and damp, my spirits were warmed by the number of raincoated and umbrella-ed people who stood in the rain to pay tribute to the fallen.  I didn’t get great pictures, but I wanted to share them anyway.

Umbrellas everywhere!

Umbrellas everywhere!

There was a small amount of seating under cover near the band.

There was a small amount of seating under cover near the band.

Not exactly kilt weather!

Not exactly kilt weather!

Tribute wreaths and bouquets.

Tribute wreaths and bouquets.

My husband is a Vietnam Veteran so it always moves me when they take time to recognize the veterans in the audience.  There were a couple of World War Two vets in the audience that I had hoped to chat with but didn’t get the chance.  Afterward, there were hot dogs and hamburgers provided by the Friends of the Pioneer Cemetery.   There’s always a tour of the historic area of the cemetery, too, but I doubt they had many takers for that this year!

A view of the cemetery.

A view of the cemetery.

Well, that’s how we commemorate Memorial Day in my little corner of the world.  It’s very small town and I quite love it!  I hope that you had some time this weekend to remember the men and women who have given everything in service to their country.

Also, the “Say it With Flowers Blog Hop” kicked off yesterday.  Be sure to click on the button on my page and it will take you to the complete schedule.  My day is on June 4th…which happens to be the birthday of my father and my dog, Spot.  (Both of whom have passed on but flowers on their day seems like a great way to remember them!)

Happy quilting!

Beth

 

 

Leave a Reply

