“It’s for the Birds” Blog Hop (and a mystery giveaway!)

Ok, a few things you need to know…first, I love puns. I always tell my daughters that I never promised there would be good jokes, just a lot of them! Second, I recently found the most adorable Kiwi pattern over at Tartan Kiwi and third, I just happen to have two yards of New Zealand fabric left over from a Girl Scout Thinking Day. Throw those elements together with my love of WordPlay quilts and you get

My Kiwi Table Runner!

My Kiwi Table Runner!

My oldest daughter has already claimed this one and it will go off to her college apartment to spend the summer while she works on campus.

Now, for the mystery giveaway…it’s a mystery because I’m not yet driving and won’t get to the quilt shop until tomorrow to pick up bird fabric!  So, sometime tomorrow, the 1/2 yard of bird fabric I’m giving away will post right about here.  In the meantime, step out on faith and leave me your favorite pun or funny saying and I’ll use Mr. Random to pick a winner at the end of the hop.  (I will ship internationally, by the way!) [Plans to get to the quilt shop are not going to materialize today but I’ve ordered my fabric and you can click here to see what it looks like! http://www.fatquartershop.com/store/stores_app/Browse_Item_Details.asp?Shopper_id=8178514053488178&Store_id=499&page_id=23&Item_ID=60085]

Now, fly on over to see what all the other creative quilters have been up to…this has been such fun!  I want to send a big hug to our wonderful Madam Samm and to Mary for all their wonderful work and inspiration!

Here’s a list of the rest of today’s quilters…have a great time!

Tuesday, May 14

http://www.intheboondocks.blogspot.com

http://mychellem.blogspot.com

www.thimblemouseandspouse.blogspot.com

www.quiltingandsewingarts.com

http://Sewgratefulquilts.wordpress.com

www.aquiltingsheep.com

http://tricia-ramblingsofaquilter.blogspot.com

http://sewmanyyarns.blogspot.com

www.moosestashquilting.blogspot.com

https://bethstrand.wordpress.com (That’s me)

http://quiltoo.blogspot.com

http://teatimecreations.blogspot.ca/

http://secretlystitching.blogspot.gr/

 

66 responses to ““It’s for the Birds” Blog Hop (and a mystery giveaway!)

  1. I’d love bird fabric of any kind! thanks for sharing. Its half way through Tuesday in this part of the world and half the blog posts are not up. The ones which are up show such creative work it is so lovely to look at.

  2. Love your table runner! Thank you for sharing.

  3. So cute. Thank you for sharing with us. 🙂

  4. Very cute table topper. Your daughter will enjoy it, I’m sure.

  5. Deborah Gunthorpe

    lovely table runner – I love the shape of the kiwi – so distinctive. My favourite saying is actually in Indonesian (where I live at the moment) – it is used to describe the traffic jams we experience all the time – ‘like a swarm of termites’. Completely appropriate!

  6. Very cute tablerunner

  7. your kiwi tablerunner is really sweet!

  8. Lovely runner, and thank you for a tweet giveaway.

  9. Joyce Mitchell

    Cute table runner. Thanks for sharing.
    “Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.”

  10. Very cute runner. A mystery is always nice.

  11. Great table runner – every detail is great! My favorite saying: “Be Like A Duck. Stay Calm On The Surface But Paddle Like Hell Underneath”.

  12. Oh your runner is just adorable!!

  13. What a fun table runner.

  14. Fun, I love your Kiwi 🙂

  15. so into our kiwi quilt…way to go…love it…and kiwi

  16. Love the super fun kiwi table runner!!

  17. Cute—please pass the kiwi. LOL. Funny saying? About the only thing that is springing to mind at the moment is one that my husband says “colder than a school marm’s heart”. He has others but they would have to be sanitized.

  18. Your kiwi table runner is so awesome. Thanks for sharing

  19. Love the table runner and it’s so sweet that your daughter claimed it! I always laugh and think how true this one is: “If mama ain’t happy ain’t nobody happy!”

  20. That is darling. I can see why it is already claimed!

  21. 😀 Oh how fun to play with your food at the table! 😀
    One of our favorite sayings of my Dad’s : “It always rains After a dry spell.”

  22. So super cute!

  23. Too cute!!! The birdie fabric is adorable!!!!
    I guess the best saying ehre in Texas is about teh wethser… always wait and bit and it will change unless it’s summer then it’s never changing!

  24. Don’t worry if you can’t see it from a galloping horse. Spoken to many quilters when they want to rip for a teeny mistake.

  25. How fun! I love your Kiwi! my mom always used to tell us when we left the house, “If you think a bird is going to shit on you, then a bird is going to shit on you” sorry for the graphic language, but the motto of the saying was if you don’t think positive then shit happens.

  26. “It’s always good when I wake up on the top side of the daisys” Ohhh I love mystery prizes so thank you for the chance to enter the drawing. I so love your KIWI runner!

    Sincerely,
    Tricia

  27. My father had a lot of Sicilian sayings. My favorite is “eyes should be useful as well as ornamental! “.

  28. Ohhh what a fun table runner. Perfect play on words!
    🙂

  29. Great word play. Very creative work. I love it. You quack me up!

  30. Love the table runner. You did a great job. Thank you so much for being part of this hop.

  31. Lovely table runner.

  32. fun table runner – thanks for sharing

  33. Brenda Hulsey

    Love the Table runner! “If you can’t remember what you were going to say then it wasn’t important!” I used to think this was cute until I got older and can’t remember half of what I was going to say!
    hulseybg at gmail com

  34. Love your kiwi. Your daughter is lucky. My favorite saying is a new one to me. I don’t remember where I read it.” Hey Vegetarians! My food poops on your food!” Not too nice, but funny to me. Thanks for the giveaway.

  35. Oh what a TWEET table runner. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  36. Cute! I like your Kiwi Table Runner! I can imagine your daughter puts it in her luggage, it is too cute to leave at home! Thanks for sharing!

  37. Sweet Kiwi! Cute tablerunner.
    After traveling out west, we brought home a stuffed animal buffalo for our grandson. His response? ‘what is it? We said ‘a buffalo’he said ‘but where are the wings?’ Up til then we didn’t realize the only buffalo he knew were the buffalo wings at the local restaurant.
    (in case you aren’t familiar..buffalo wings are spicy bbq chicken wings)
    Thanks for the chance to win.

  38. I’m trying to think of one, but I’m just not feeling very punny today.

  39. I don’t really know any puns, but I have found the answer to which came first, the chicken or the egg? Well, God crated all of the animals when He created the Earth, therefore he created the chickens also, therefore the chicken came first! I love that bird fabric!

  40. Great job on the quilt!

  41. What a nice kiwi. Love this table runner. Thanks for sharing. Frederika

  42. What a cute, cute project. I’m just not good at puns, but I do love birds and bird fabric.

  43. Love your Kiwi! Just wondering, are you going to play the pun game? You do know, Toucan play at this game!

  44. Really cute table runner! A dyslexic walks into a bra….

  45. Cute wordy birdy quilt! My favorite pun or saying? One of my sons used to get his sayings all mixed up. We often quote our favorite of his: We’ll burn that bridge when we come to it!
    My favorites from teaching school are from my second graders:” A stitch in time…..hurts!” and “The way to man’s heart is through surgery!”

  46. Love your table runner, Does lucky daughter have jealous siblings? I drove my daughters crazy when they would ask “You know what?”. My reply was “No, but I know his cousin Who. We used to go to Who’s house and husk corn. Shucks, I know Who.”

  47. really like your runner..one of my favorite sayings is”You only get out of Life What you put into it”

  48. Your kiwi table runner is too cute. All I have is a saying that was spoke to me as a youngster – “You make a better door than a window”

  49. Great tablerunner. When I was a kid, my siblings and I were ‘cruisin for a bruisin’ when we were getting in trouble.

  50. Your table runner, very funny & cute. I think your bird fabric your giving away is the cutest ever. Here is my silly phrase for you…..
    I am kind of feeling like a bird brain lately so I went to the doctor to get my head checked. He looked at the right said and said there is nothing left and then he looked at the left side and said nothing is right.

    Amy W.

  51. Very cute table runner. I like the saying, “a balanced diet means a cupcake in each hand”.

  52. Amazing! A quilted pun – that’s a first!!

    While attending a marriage retreat, Jay and his wife, Beth, listened to the instructor declare,“It is essential that husbands and wives know the things that are important to each other. He then addressed the men, asking “Can you name and describe your wife’s favorite flower?”
    Frank leaned over, touched Ann’s arm gently, and whispered, “Gold Medal All Purpose, isn’t it?”

  53. Love Mystery surprises! 🙂
    When my 4 Kiddo’s were small, and we’d go shopping…I always told them “Look with your eyes, not with your hands”….and they learned to be good lil’ well-behaved shoppers. I recently heard my youngest son say same thing to his lil’ Kiddo…waaaay cool! 🙂

  54. Fantastic! I love puns too, but derned if I can think of any when I need them.

  55. Favorite pun.
    A chicken crossing the road is poultry in motion.

  56. Love your kiwi! Thanks for sharing it with me. Great to see my pattern being used. It was the first one that I designed and I keep meaning to go back and give it a bit of a re-jig but I haven’t quite got round to it yet!

  57. I love your kiwi runner?
    Did you hear about the man who sent puns to ten of his friends hoping that at least one would raise a laugh. No pun in ten did!!

  58. Super creative table runner. Thanks for sharing in this super fun hop and it was not just For the Birds, I had great fun with it.

  59. KIwi runner is sew creative.

  60. HI!!!! I love your birdie quilt!!! Very fun!!!!

  61. Very nice.
    Knock knock
    “who’s there?”
    “Boo”
    “Boo who?”
    “Don’t cry, it’s just me”
    (so very corny, I know)

  62. Your quilt is so cute

Leave a Reply

