“Love in the Balance” is Historically Imbalanced

51L5CmmDNPL__SL110_OU01_SS80_
1879. Texas. Molly Lovelace has been bred to wed. Both she and her parents know that her objective is to marry a wealthy man, a man who will solve the family’s financial problems…if only her heart wasn’t so drawn to an insolvent cowboy.
If you are a stickler for historical detail…steer clear of this book. Personally, I get really tired of books that sell themselves as historical fiction but fail to accurately portray the era they purport to be set in. In three phone calls, I was able to verify one major inaccuracy in this book. If I can do that, shouldn’t the author or the editor have checked it? In addition, there is a major breakdown in understanding and portraying the social moirés of the time period. I don’t mind granting an author a little poetic license but this book strayed so far from what was likely or socially acceptable in 1879 as to border on ridiculous.
If you want a slightly predictable romance and don’t mind a little bit of stilted dialogue, then you may well enjoy it. It’s not that the plot wasn’t reasonably engaging, it’s just that historical fiction should be, in my personal opinion, historically accurate.
This book was provided to me by Bethany House for this review. The opinions, however, are entirely my own!

One response to ““Love in the Balance” is Historically Imbalanced

  1. this was very helpful to me. Personally when I read something that is clearly historically inaccurate, it jars me from the plot of the story, and I have to struggle to get back into the story. I wish more authors would grasp that concept. Some very good stories become lost for me, or don’t even get finished because of this, in my case.

Leave a Reply

