Does This Ever Happen to You? And Franken-batt

I finished machine quilting a project last night and when I went to trim  it this morning…I found a little surprise!  Does this ever happen to you?  I’ve had a couple of run-ins with this type of small piece trying to “attach” itself and, since I’m somewhat ripper-adverse, I’ve found an easy fix.  I figure I may not be the only quilter with stray bits of fabric around so here’s what I do when I get a “Klingon.”

image

I first cut away the offending fabric as close as I comfortably can near the stitching on either side.

image

Then I simply pull the remaining threads through, fraying them slightly if need be to make them slip away.  See how easy that was?  (And, I didn’t have to re-stitch anything!)

image

Now, about Franken-batt.  I mentioned a few posts ago that I was piecing my batting and a friend in another forum asked how I did that.  I thought I’d share. It’s nothing ground breaking, but sometimes it is nice to get a visual.

image

This batt is actually made of the trims off the Franken-batt I pieced for my “Nancy Drew” quilt for the upcoming blog hop.  I think this makes it the “Bride of Franken-batt.”  I keep wondering how many Franken-batts until I actually see the box of scraps begin to empty, any wagers?  So, back to how to do it. First, use your rotary cutter and ruler to trim your batting pieces so that they have a straight edge on both sides.  Since this was a small batt, I trimmed my strips and laid them over my top until I had enough strips to cover it.  For a bigger batt, I’d just keep adding pieces and checking my sizes.

image

Then, I switched my machine to my widest and longest zig-zag stitch.  I like to use my #20 open-toed foot but you could use the closed-toed one just as easily.   Push your two pieces of batting right up against each other but don’t overlap.  This way, your Franken-batt is just as flat as a new batt.

wpid-IMG_20130227_113650.jpg

This is what it looks like after the seam is sewn.  Then, just keep adding strips until you’ve reached the desired length and width.  I do add pieces going both directions when necessary.  After all, no one but you will ever see your Franken-batt!  Just be sure that you are pushing your pieces together edge to edge and not leaving any gaps.  I also like to make sure I quilt my quilt a little tighter when using a Franken-batt.  Not that they’re likely to split but I like to feel extra secure.

Happy quilting!

Beth

 

 

Leave a Reply

