2013 Quilting Goals, Blocks of the Month and Fun Stuff!

Amy at Crafty Shenanagins wrote about a new challenge being hosted by Melissa of Sew BitterSweet Designs and Shanna of Fiber of All Sorts called, “A Lovely Year of Finishes”. I love any form of motivation to finish quilts so I hopped right on board! Here’s how it works (copied from their blogs):

Each month pick one project, anything you like (it can even be an entirely new project, so long as you can finish it in the current month) and tell yourself, “I Will Finish It.” Then write a blog post about the project and link it up to our Goal Setting linky party. Spend the rest of the month working on your finish. We will have a mid-month check, and though you are not required to link up to that post, it would be fun to see your progress! Finally, after you have finished your project, write a second (or third) post showing us your Lovely Finish and link it up to our “Finishes Party.”
We’re traveling for nine days in January so I’m starting small. My January goal is to finish the baby quilt for my soon-to-arrive great-nephew and quilt a quilt for a friend. (See the photo at the end for the basted quilt.)

My main sewing goal for 2013 is more finishes than starts. I have a huge number of UFO’s (I estimate 50ish) and I’d like to finish two of them for every one new thing I start. That being said, however, there are few free Block of the Month programs that I couldn’t help jumping into. Country Threads has a great, scrappy quilt on their blog, Chicken Scratch. Kristy at Quiet Play is hosting a sewing-themed, paper-pieced block of the month, Pile O’Fabrics is hosting a skill-builder block of the month and, of course, I’m finishing up my Carol Doak block of the month with her yahoo group. So much temptation…what’s a girl to do but jump in with both feet?

Oh, and then there are awesome blog hops coming! In Your Words is on right now. (My day is January 15th and I’ll be on with a great group of bloggers.) Dare to Dresden is coming up and I’m planning to finish a UFO for that one. Nancy Drew is coming in March and it seems like Madam Samm has a whole other list of fun things up her sleeve for the rest of the year! (She has some hints on her blog.)  So, with that being said, I have to hop up to my sewing room and start sorting a few things that I’m taking traveling with me.  Yesterday, I bought a roller carry on that will house my featherweight and I need to decide what my words are.  I have a few in mind but I think I need to get away and clear my head and see what words come to me.  Do you have any words ready for 2013?  I’ve thought of “Frugal Abundance” for my theme of the year but it doesn’t really lend itself to a quilt.  Maybe a straightforward “Dare to Dream”? Or perhaps something simpler?  What words pull you?  Come back on the 15th and see what words I have in store and, in the meantime, check out the In Your Words blog hop and see what everyone else is saying!

Happy quilting!

January's first finish goal

January’s first finish goal

2 responses to “2013 Quilting Goals, Blocks of the Month and Fun Stuff!

  1. Good luck on your first finish of the year! Thank you for linking up!!!

  2. That’s a cheerful quilt to finish! I know you will have a Lovely Finish at the end of January!

Leave a Reply

