12/8/12 – Catching Up and Tales from the ER

image

I meant to write this post on Thursday but then I experienced one of those lovely, unplanned interruptions to your life.  I  was sewing and started having some back pain.  I tried some stretching, some heat, some ibuprofen and finally a warm bath.  All the time under the assumption that I had pulled a muscle.  When the pain took up residence in the lower right side of my abdomen, I called my sister the doctor who said, “ER, now!”  We have a strong family history of appendicitis.

So, with only about 30 minutes until I had to pick up my daycare kids, two dear friends rushed in and saved me, one handling the kids and one getting me to the ER where my husband met us.  It didn’t take long for them to diagnose the problem.  I have a marble-sized kidney stone stuck in the tube from my kidney!  Surgery will need to happen but, for now, a stent has been installed and I’m home and resting less-than-comfortably.  Today is a better day, though, I actually feel like I can sew for a little while.  (Yesterday I bonded with the TV all day.)

The photo above is my progress so far on the my Easy Street and a few more James Landing blocks.  There’s a new clue out for Easy Street and, wouldn’t you know it, it’s the same block I just make 360 blocks of for the Quilt Without End Batik quilt!  I’m getting very excited about this mystery.  I always love Bonnie’s designs and can’t wait to see what this one is.  I don’t think I told you last week that when we got to step 2, I realized that I had forgotten which color I used for which and I had to remeasure and write down my substitutions.  Blue for purple, pink for aqua, etc.  Sometimes I wonder where my brain has gone!  Now I’m going to gather a couple of water bottles and trek up the stairs to the sewing room.  We’ll see how much I can get done on the star quilt and maybe get my step 3 started!

Hope you are having a great day, be sure to stop back for the next Giveaway Post on the 10th.  If all goes as planned, I’ll be introducing you to my fur babies (they go with the giveaway.)

Happy quilting and stay away from marbles…or at least keep them in their rightful place!

Beth

4 responses to “12/8/12 – Catching Up and Tales from the ER

  1. Ouch! Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  2. Bless you! ER trips are never fun but I’m glad you had two good friends to step in and help. Hope things go well for you…. sending you lots of good wishes!!!

  3. Thank God for friends!!! Certainly hope your kidney stone exits without the need for surgery!

    • Unfortunately, there is no hope of it passing on it’s own. I’m waiting to know when surgery will be and, frankly, thanking Heaven that I’ve done most of the Christmas shopping! lol

Leave a Reply

