Fifteen Minutes of Fun 11/16 & 11/17

Friday came and went in a blur of “I can’t even remember what I did” except that I did do a fair amount of hand applique and made these blocks for my Jamestown Landing.

image

This put me over the halfway mark so I’m doing the happy dance!  I’d love to get my Jamestown top done before Easy Street starts the day after Thanksgiving but I’m pretty sure that’s a pipe dream.  I should have the top done by the end of the year, though, if all goes well.

Speaking of tops, by the way, I had to go on a search for a set of blocks that I had apparently put in a safe place at some point and in the process of searching I got a little scared at the number of UFO’s hanging around in the sewing room.  It really is like an alien invasion.  I’ve decided after the New Year to take the scary plunge and make a list of them all and try to start working through them.  I’m going to have to come up with a policy like “One old finish for every new project” or maybe “Two old finishes for every new project.”  That would whittle down the list a bit.  There are some nice future quilts hanging out in that room waiting to see the light of day.  Speaking of old projects seeing the light of day, I forgot to mention that my quilt came back from Amanda over at Fabric Engineer.  It looks great and I can’t wait to get the binding on it and show it to you this week!

So, on  Saturday, I had some “mommy jobs” to take care of  and when I went up to sew I realized that my sewing room had hit critical mass and I couldn’t do another thing without tackling the chaos.  Here’s a picture before I started.
image

And here’s a picture after.  I’m not done but doesn’t that look better?
image

I did manage to get a few more blocks done for JL, too, and that wraps up my Friday and Saturday sewing. 
image

If all goes well, I’ll have a lot to be excited about later today!

3 responses to “Fifteen Minutes of Fun 11/16 & 11/17

  1. Beth, your sewing room scares me…you really need me to fly out there to help you organize…really, you do…and when I’m finished we can go see the sites and have lunch. Let’s just go see the sites and have lunch instead!

    Meg from TN

  2. We have that in common, it scares me, too! It’s slowly getting better, though, and I can’t wait until I’m ready to show you my personal “fabric store” in the Expedite bookcases. What I need to do is block out a day a week to organize instead of sew!

  3. You will get it done!! And, it will be wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

