Fifteen Minutes of Fun Update for 11/12 & 13

Good morning!

I thought I would make this update yesterday but between having breakfast with a couple of dear friends and getting back in to the swing of the week…well, it was evening before I knew it.  I thought, “Well, I’ll just do an update before bed” but by the time I looked up from my project, I was already past my curfew!

So, what have I been working on?  Well, I got the Christmas Star quilt basted and got the label on the back.  I prefer labeling the quilt before I quilt it and then the label gets quilted securely into the project.  On Monday, I made a few more string pieced blocks.

Monday’s Blocks

Then I made a few more last night.

Tuesday Blocks

I also worked on my Holiday Lane project for the blog hop.  I may give a sneak peek later but I’m not sure…I want to surprise you!  One accomplishment from the weekend I forgot to mention was this

Empty Laundry Baskets!

Yes, I was so excited to conquer what Flylady calls “Mt. Washmore” that I took a picture of my empty sorter bins.  You can just make out my signs on the top.  I was tired of no one but me understanding where things went so I made signs.  My younger daughter loved them…I’m not sure why I waited so long to make them.  Maybe I’ll put them in cute frames…or is that taking it a little bit too far?

I did break my sweets fast once this weekend because my younger daugther made these

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies! Yum!

I had to eat one just to be polite, right?  Since she made them gluten-free just so her sister and I could have them with her.  It was a sweet treat in every sense of the word because her thoughtfulness was a sweet as the cookie!

Another “sweet” moment this weekend was taking my oldest to buy her first scrubs.  She starts nursing school in the Spring term and they require indigo as their color.  I can hardly wait for her to work somewhere that allows colorful scrubs…just imagine the excuse for buying fabric! lol

Very first scrubs and nursing shoes!

Well, that’s it for me for this morning.  Today I’m taking a driving to the VA for a stress test.  That’s the lovely bonus of having no kids during the school day.  I can do these kinds of things for people without worrying about nap times or diaper bags!  Instead I have some hand applique I’m taking with me.  I love doctor’s office’s for hand work time…especially when I’m not the one being seen.

Happy quilting!

Beth

 

 

2 responses to “Fifteen Minutes of Fun Update for 11/12 & 13

  1. Love your daughter’s scrubs. I have made some nice colourful ones for my daughter also, but the only problem we found was that we used quilter’s cotton, and after washing THEY need to be ironed…..:( Good luck in making them. Love your little scrappy blocks! Thanks for sharing these with us.

  2. I thought about the ironing thing….I hate ironing but I’d hate to miss out on all those great scraps, too! lol

Leave a Reply

