And the Winner Is……Sunday Night Catch-Up 11/4/12

So, first things first in this “Oh my goodness, I’m HOW far behind?” post! I had a date with the Random Generator and the winner of my giveaway is Helen from “Til We Quilt Again.” Thank you so much to everyone who stopped by and most especially to Wendy at Why Knot Kwilt and Madam Samm for organizing this. I can’t wait to see what they have waiting in the new year!  (One of my New Year’s resolutions is to figure out how to get the number generator on your site for all to see…I heard something about a widget!)

So what have I been up to?  Well, not nearly as much as I’d like!  I’m not sure how the migraine fairy knows that my limit on migraine meds is twice in a week so I had two last week and two the week before.  I’m trying for a migraine-free week, let’s see how that goes, eh?

The average speed in my sewing room this week!

In between headaches, I did get a few things done, like the first foundation string pieces for my Jamestown Landing.  I also cut quite a few strings as I didn’t have many neutral strings.  Piecing the strings was much more fun than I thought it would be…I highly recommend it for stress-free sewing!

First String Blocks!

I pieced my October Block of the Month for the Carol Doak Yahoo Group (still not too late to join us, just saying…)

October block for Carol Doak group

I went on a minor tangent last night and took a small English Paper Pieced 1930’s project that I picked up in a thrift store (I know, someone is bound to ask why I adopt UFO’s when I have enough of my own and, honestly, I have no good answer.) I’d run across this one in the big “sift through everything to find the one shirt missing for Sarah’s qult” and was thinking it would make a nice little bag if I could find a pattern.  Ah, the internet to the rescue once again!   I found a lovely tutorial at Flossie Teacakes and away I went with my Kindle perched next to my machine for double checking the tutorial.  I made a couple of minor changes, the size being one and then I both interfaced and quilted my exterior fabric but I’m quite pleased with the results and haven’t quite decided if it’s a stocking stuffer or if it’s just for me….time will tell!

My new hexie bag and my trusty Kindle!

And I spent some time pulling fabrics for the new Bonnie Hunter mystery that is starting up on the day after Thanksgiving.  Oh, and I spent some time nagging for Christmas lists because this elf wants to clear her calendar to sew!

So, with that being said, I’m  off to watch “Once Upon a Time” with my younger one while I have a little more sewing fun.

Happy quilting!

Beth

Leave a Reply

