Fifteen Minutes of Fun 10/12 & 10/13/12 (A Two-Fer!)

Ok, so it’s not a real two-fer, I just fell prey to a bout of fatigue last night and started dozing before 8 pm! It could be that I never really shook the sinus headache I woke up with or it could be that I’m out of practice with having kids all day! Actually, the kids were great and, since we were downstairs all day, I got two sessions in on my Jamestown Landing. I was able to do a massive press and pinwheel session plus sew together a stack of four-patches.

Even more four-patches!

Today, was still a bit slow going even with migraine meds but I did get out with my younger daughter to pick up a dress for her Halloween costume from the thrift store. On the way home, we stopped in downtown Oregon City to walk across the newly reopening “Old Bridge.” This beautiful arch bridge has been closed for two years for renovation and this weekend they opened it up for walking and pedestrian visitors before it opens for traffic on Monday. Of course I took a few pictures.

My younger daughter on the bridge

The bridge does have a sidewalk for pedestrian traffic but we took the opportunity to walk down the middle of the street. (As my daughter pointed out, we can walk on the sidewalk any old time.)
The restoration work looks beautiful, including the original-looking lamps on the obelisks

Beautiful lamps!

And the concrete work looks great

The concrete work on the rails.

And here’s a glimpse of our beautiful falls in the distance from the bridge

Ok, enough of the bridge tour and back to the quilting! I made another kite tail of two-fers today and thought I’d try stretching it out for a photo-op just for fun. It was trickier than I thought it would be and I think the photo is blurred because I couldn’t hold the thread end, stretch the line out and hold it still while holding the camera in my other hand!

The kite tail stretched out reached across the kitchen and not all of them fit in the photo!

Also on the quilting end of things, I found the coolest blog today! Barbara Brackman has a blog called “Grandmother’s Choice” which is devoted to a block of the week commemorating the Suffragette movement. I don’t know about you, but I always felt guilty when I came to the song in “Mary Poppins” about Sister Suffragette. Especially the line, “Our daughter’s daughters will adore us and they’ll sing in grateful chorus ‘Well done, sister suffragette!'” Really, how many of us are well-versed on what it took to get women the right to vote or, as Barbara pointed out in one post, the right to custody of their children? The blog posts are full of great historical information and a great block with each post. I need another UFO like an extra hole in my head but I don’t think I can pass this up! Check it out at http://grandmotherschoice.blogspot.com/2012/09/1-grandmothers-choice.html. In addition, out in blog world, Bonnie Hunter posted a slide show of her student’s work at a recent Jamestown Landing class on her blog here. It was very fun to see the different colors people are using (although I’m not committing to a second one!)
Well, that’s enough of a novel for one night, hopefully I didn’t lose anyone along the way. Tomorrow, it’s back to work on SP1. With any luck, I’ll bip right past two stages tomorrow and be ready for the big push to finished!
Happy quilting!

5 responses to “Fifteen Minutes of Fun 10/12 & 10/13/12 (A Two-Fer!)

  1. Hi Beth! Your daughter is so cute with such a sweet smile! The bridge is truly beautiful. Found your blog via the group we’re both in and KNEW I just had to read your blog. Love your friendly way of writing and your optimism!

  2. Love seeing the bridge and Jelly, and your work progressing, but I’m worried about you. You’re getting migraines a lot and that’s never good. Need to find out what’s causing that before it can’t be helped.

  3. Pingback: “Stamp On It” Blog Hop (My Day and a Giveaway) | Words & Stitches

Leave a Reply

