Fifteen Minutes of Fun 10/4/12 and a Wild Tangent!

So, yesterday was a little topsy-turvy, which is why I’m writing this post this morning.  I woke up with a cold and spent the better part of the morning tearing apart the sewing room searching for a missing t-shirt.  I crawled into the fabric storage area and proceeded to go through every box, drawer, etc.  I didn’t find it in there but I did manage to make a HUGE mess!  When I came downstairs for lunch, I did a quick check of my email and Martingale was offering a free, paper-pieced witch pattern.  Not only that, but there was a contest and the first person to send them a photo of their completed quilt with the block would win a copy of the book.  Well…I had just found this really cute Halloween print and I did have 1.5 hours before I had to pick up the kids and…I’m sure you see where this is going!  I put together my block after printing it on Carol Doak foundation printing paper which I’ve been using recently and I just love it!  It’s so much easier to use than printer paper.  The softer newsprint just handles better and can be left in to sew the sections…but I digress.  So, I got the block assembled before I picked up the kids, put borders on downstairs, quilted it and bound it with leftover binding from the scrap binding bin and sent it in at about 5:15. By that point, I was pretty sure I wouldn’t win but I was excited to be done and my younger daughter absolutely loved it!  After dinner, I was feeling so yucky from my cold that all I accomplished for the rest of the evening was reading by the fireplace.  I made one false start towards my Jamestown Landing but I really just didn’t have it in me.   I went to bed early, once again terribly grateful for nighttime cold medicine.

This morning, I got up and checked my email and I won!  I had a lovely email in my box from Martingale that I was the first finished quilt.  I was so excited!  My quilt will be on their Happy Halloween Pintrest page and I was able to download the book the pattern was from for free as a prize!  The book is chock full of fantasy patterns…witches, wizards, centaurs, hippogriffs and more.  (I’ll try to post a photo of the book cover later.) In the meantime, here’s a picture of my little quilt.  I’m off to run a few errands, make a few Jamestown blocks and try to clear up some of the disaster I made in the sewing room.

Happy quilting!

image

3 responses to “Fifteen Minutes of Fun 10/4/12 and a Wild Tangent!

  1. Great job finishing the quilt in record time while dealing with a yucky cold! I hope you feel better soon.

  2. It is just perfect Beth. Congratulations!
    hugs
    Nan

  3. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

