9/18/13

First, can I get a big Woo Hoo because today I finished the last seven blocks for the batik World Without End quilt?  Ok, well, actually it was eight blocks…don’t ask how that happened, I’m still trying to figure out why I have leftover small triangles but I ran out of squares.  At least I have a drawer of triangles to put them in so they wont be homeless.  Oops, looks like I put the photos in backwards so, instead, here are today’s Jamestown Landing squares.  Remember, I’m not telling you anything specific about the pattern because I’m a huge fan of Bonnie Hunter’s work and I’d rather you bought her book so she can keep working!   She’ll have a mystery quilt coming up soon.  I’ll keep you posted.  Anyway, without giving away totals, I’m down to about 150 more of these…I know, the total is staggering (check your book!)  I have to say, though, that I should finish these up by the 20th or so and it will have only taken me one month of about 15 minutes a day to do all these squares.  Now, of course, they still have to go together but really this is a testament to Flylady’s “just do 15 minutes” approach.  Who would have thought it would translate so well into quilting?

image

Ok, now these are really the batik squares.  Cute, huh?  Happy dance?

image

Yes, I really think finished 360 of these rates a major happy dance!  The next step on these will be to sew them into pairs and the pairs into blocks and the blocks into bigger blocks, etc., etc. 

In the meantime, I’m off upstairs to do a little work on the Eagle Quilt before bed.  I finally figured out how to quilt the tail feather section on the eagle without it looking like he was pooping…obviously a plus not to look like that!  I’m not sure I’ll do much work on it, I’m pretty pooped myself tonight.  Today was the second day that I did my elliptical machine for 45 minutes.  I’m a tad sore in muscles I’d forgotten I had!

So, until tomorrow.  If you are following along with a project of your own, I’d love to hear about it.  Or, anything else you’re working on.  And remember, fabric is way cheaper than therapy!

Happy quilting,

Beth

Leave a Reply

