Fifteen Minutes of Fun 9-1-12

Happy Rabbit Rabbit Day! My daughter’s father grew up with the tradition of saying ” rabbit, rabbit” first thing on the first day of the month to bring good luck. Now, I’m a pretty firm believer that luck isn’t summoned by superstition, but I love the fun of keeping family stories alive. It’s a small way of pulling people who are long gone into your memory and being thankful for what they brought into your life. By the same token, I usually rub the cut end of a cucumber before I peel it. My grandmother said that would ” get the poison out.” Speaking of poison, I’m not sure what foul bug got into my system but it’s been pretty rough again today. Right now I’ve found respite in a hot bath. ( My phone is very water resistant.) Before I got in, though, I spent fifteen minutes just running triangles through the sewing machine. That was all I could handle because standing up is painful. Earlier today ( when my thoughts of accomplishing a lot were still looking possible) I finished the Carol Doak block of the Month for August.

I’m pretty happy with it, even if it’s a day late. Well, that’s it for me today. I’m pretty sure my next stop is bed! Before I go, here’s my rabbit rabbit wish for you….may you be blessed with much time to quilt and nary a seam to rip! Happy Quilting!

Leave a Reply

Fifteen Minutes of Fun 9-1-12

Happy Rabbit Rabbit Day! My daughter’s father grew up with the tradition of saying ” rabbit, rabbit” first thing on the first day of the month to bring good luck. Now, I’m a pretty firm believer that luck isn’t summoned by superstition, but I love the fun of keeping family stories alive. It’s a small way of pulling people who are long gone into your memory and being thankful for what they brought into your life. By the same token, I usually rub the cut end of a cucumber before I peel it. My grandmother said that would ” get the poison out.” Speaking of poison, I’m not sure what foul bug got into my system but it’s been pretty rough again today. Right now I’ve found respite in a hot bath. ( My phone is very water resistant.) Before I got in, though, I spent fifteen minutes just running triangles through the sewing machine. That was all I could handle because standing up is painful. Earlier today ( when my thoughts of accomplishing a lot were still looking possible) I finished the Carol Doak block of the Month for August.

I’m pretty happy with it, even if it’s a day late. Well, that’s it for me today. I’m pretty sure my next stop is bed! Before I go, here’s my rabbit rabbit wish for you….may you be blessed with much time to quilt and nary a seam to rip! Happy Quilting!

Leave a Reply

