A New Challenge – Block a Day

Ok, I’ve said that I’ve got a new challenge brewing in my mind and I’m ready to spill it. Now, first let me explain that my schedule is, well, hectic. I’m sure almost everyone’s is and, as the mom, you tend to throw out the things that are just for you before you cut out any of the things that your family needs you to do. So laundry obviously has to stay along with dishes, groceries, work, taking care of the kids, feeding people, etc. What do most women throw under the bus when life gets stressfull…our personal time activities. At least that’s what I’ve been doing. Not that my schedule has a lot of extra time but with the constant “behind the eight ball” feeling, it’s been hard to find time to quilt especially with the sewing room being on the third floor.

At 48, I’ve been quilting for almost 30 years and sewing for 35 and I’ve learned that if I’m not sewing, I’m not happy. While I was doing the DIY Block of the Month blocks (only two months left to go and I’m working on my setting) I realized that the blocks only took me less than 1/2 hour not including the photographs and the time to blog them. “Why am I not doing more of this”, I thought.

Even though my current schedule is hectic (my daycare kids are with me from 6:20 a.m. to 5:45 p.m.) and one of them is a very busy toddler. Nap times and evening are usually catch-up time and there are a slew of things on my to-do list. Over the last few months, I’ve let my quilting time slip away and I’ve decided to baby-step my way into it with a Block a Day Challenge.

My goal is to make one block every day.  I wont be posting instructions, just a photo once a week of that weeks’ blocks.  I’ve decided on the following rules….

1. Minimum of four pieces in a block

2. Fifteen minutes of machine quilting equals one block

3. Blocks can be any size.

4.  Setting together a row on a quilt or one border equals a block.

I’m hoping, of course, that this challenge will help force me to get up to the sewing room every day for a little “me” time. This, in turn, should make everyone around me just a little happier as we all know that “when momma ain’t happy, aint nobody happy!”

So, for right now, I’m off for a flu shot, the bank, some paint and then back to get my little friend down for his nap.  Hope your day has a little time to do something you love!

Leave a Reply

