Just the Facts – George Washington Carver by John Perry

I like biographies. I really, really like biographies but this one was a bit of a slog. If I was writing a term paper or wanting to assign a reference book for a student, this would be a go-to book but as an enjoyable read, it fell flat. The information is well-organized, there are many excerpts from actual letters to and from G.W. Carver, and the book is obviously well-researched, but I was still just a bit bored. When I start a book, I’m usually finished in a day or two but this one kept sliding off my radar. Perhaps my tastes have been a bit tainted by the terrific narrative non-fictions that are coming along, much like trying to snack on broccoli after candy bars.

Overall, despite the slow pace this book is full of solid research and factual writing. Not quite my cup of tea, but a worthy effort and worth looking into if you have a term paper due soon.

I received this book for free from BookSneeze for this review as part of their blogger review program.

Leave a Reply

