Area 51 Challenge Update #20 – Fudge Factor

Ok, just like the White Rabbit, I’m late! And, actually so is my finish but I’m going to show it to you anyway. (Even though it properly belongs in next week’s post, but it will be gone, raffled off and in it’s new home by then.)

So, does this ever happen to you? I was working on this quilt, under a deadline as usual, and I thought I’d be smart and cut the binding strips when I cut the borders. Good idea, right? Well, yes, until I went to put the binding on two days later and could not find the strips. Now, I mentioned that my sewing room has been slipping back into dissarray but really, it not that bad! I’ve been turning over every project, looking in any bins I might have opened and even considered checking the trash outside in case they fell off the ironing board (I didn’t have to, though, because I figured out that the trash went out before I cut the strips, whew!) I even had my younger daughter try looking with me. No luck. Finally, I cut new binding from a different piece of fabric and finished the quilt. I have to admit, the second binding is really better-looking than the first would have been but it’s the principle of the thing…how do you misplace five 2.5″ x 60″ strips? All I can think is that they decided they did not belong on this quilt and ran away in protest!

So, about the actual quilt. This is a raffle quilt for our local Sheriff’s Auxiliary (the same group I did the raffle quilt at Christmas for.) They are hosting a poker night and so my dear friend purchased poker-themed fabric. I put it together with other stuff I had on hand and here is the result…

Double Pinwheels

And here’s a close-up of the poker fabric in the block…

Double Pinwheel block

Like thousands of families in the U.S., my younger daughter and I have spent the last few weekends hanging out at grocery stores, banks, and variety stores asking that all important question, “Would you like to buy some Girl Scout cookies?” Well, our troop sales have gone very well, thank you all, but I thought you might get a kick out of this shot of our cat, Griffie…

Griffie in his new favorite spot!

Maybe next year we’ll add to our sales pitch that if you buy a case you get a free cat toy!

Well, I’m sorry again about the late update. I’m off to put a binding on an antique quilt (long story I’ll tell you next week) then take my sweetheart in for minor day surgery then chaperone the band at the basketball game tonight. Other than that, not a thing going on today!
So, week 21.2, finishes 32, UFO’s remaining 50

Leave a Reply

