Area 51 Challenge Update #17 – In the Pink

Four patches in pink

Has this ever happened to you? I finished quilting this little shower gift and was trimming off the excess batting. As I flipped the quilt to trim the next side, something bright caught my eye. There, on the back of the quilt, quilted nicely and very flat was a stray four-patch that had stuck to the flannel back! Now, if it hadn’t been for the raw edges, I’d have left it there. The four patch in question worked beautifully with the colors in the quilt but, alas for the doomed block, I ended up surgically removing it by cutting close the the quilting lines on both sides of the line and pulling the stray threads. I think I need a container for my four patches before any more of them try to sneak into other projects! I’ve revived my interest in four patches because I received my copy of Bonnie Hunter’s new book “Leaders and Enders.” This wonderful book shows you how to use small units to stop/start your thread and piece an extra few blocks incidental to your main piecing. I highly recommend it. You can check out Bonnie’s site at http://www.Quiltville.com. I simply can’t run out of nice things to say about this site and it’s owner!

So, another week, another baby quilt. Quite the epidemic going on around me. This little one is getting into a box tomorrow and winging it’s way to a baby shower. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for it to show up in time.

Now, I’ve come up with a bit of a dilema. I’m getting lots done with my self-imposed challenge but not as many of them are UFO’s as I’d like. The three baby quilts, for instance, were “made from scratch” but all used fabrics on hand. So, next week, I want to see if I can figure out how to do a sidebar with a list of all the UFO’s. In the meantime, I’m adding a new number to my stats. I’ll list week, finishes and UFO’s remaining. Maybe that will light a bit of a fire for me!

Speaking of creative sparks, seeing Janet Fogg’s quilts really helped light a fire for me on a quilt I’ve had in my mind for 20 years. Don’t expect a finish in the next week but I’ve got a drawing and a plan.

I also ran across a great idea and, please forgive me, I can’t remember which member of my online group posted this but I think it’s great and I’ve adopted it. She mentioned that she uses the business card setting on her word processor to make a whole sheet of labels with name, location and then adds the name of the quilt and the date in fabric pen. Here’s an example of the ones I ran off on a Printed Treasures sheet this morning.

8 to a page labels


I went ahead and added “2010” to the label as the year is young and I hope to have many more finishes than eight! So, this week, I’ve got two UFO’s in my sights…which would get me under the 50 mark. I’ve also got a total redo of the fabric storage area coming…I wonder how many more UFO’s I’ll find in there?

So, for now, it’s week 18, finishes 29, UFO’s remaining 51

3 responses to “Area 51 Challenge Update #17 – In the Pink

  1. turned out nice! I am left wondering what the back “patch” looked like, lol.
    anyway, I’m sitting here wondering about the labels. What did you print them onto? Was it fabric paper? Sorry if that’s an ignorant question.

    • I like using the Printed Treasures brand of photo fabric. It’s spendy (as they say up here) running about $18 per 5 sheets but I tried doing the ones myself with the chemicals and it was a bit of a pain. I found them at JoAnn’s today 1/2 off so it was $9.50 for 5 but with eight labels on a page that’s less than 25 cents per label. Best wishes, Beth Strand pbstrand@msn.com Writer, Quilter, Mother, Cat Concierge “Quilting is merely a socially acceptable obsessive compulsive disorder!” Check out my blog at https://bethstrand.wordpress.com —– Original Message —–

  2. p.s. that’s just what the downy quilts look like!

Leave a Reply

