Fifteen Minutes of Fun November 6th & 7th

All day yesterday, I kept thinking, “I need to do my post” but when the end of the day came and I could either sew or post…well, I figured you wouldn’t mind a two-fer. The two days look a little like deja vu, though, as I worked on the string pieced blocks and baby quilts both days.
Here’s Tuesday with the borders on the baby quilt
Baby Quilt with borders...see it's not so "ducky" now!
and Tuesday’s stack of string-pieced blocks.

I also went to the fabric store for thread and came home with this lovely print (the words aren’t that large, I was holding the camera about two inches above the fabric.)

I can’t tell you what that fabric is for…another secret project in the works!

Yesterday I had big sewing plans that I happily threw overboard to have coffee with a dear friend. In the evening, however, I did get the second baby quilt center pieced and another batch of strings blocks made.

Another pile of string blocks

And the duplicate baby quilt! Or, as I like to think of them, twins!

Also, are you following along with the current blog hops?  I may have to find a twelve-step group because these are so addictive!  I can find so much inspiration and so many ideas without ever leaving my sewing room!  Currently, I’m following along with the blog hop celebrating Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 6, popping in to see some adorable coin purses on UR Priceless and finding some lovely holiday inspiration from the Sew Seasonal Blog Hop which includes two great free patterns to download.  One for an assortment of paper pieced blocks and one for a cute ornament pattern.  Seriously, my head might explode with all the new project ideas floating around in it!  Oh, and if that weren’t enough, Lori over at Bee In My Bonnet just posted the most adorable coffee mug blocks with a tutorial in her row quilt instructions.  I’m already thinking kitchen quilt….drop by and tell me what you think!  (Oh, and just to clarify, I’m not related to any of these blogs, just passing along the fun stuff I’m finding because I like to share good news!)

Ok, so I’m off to run to Costco (wish me luck) and, hopefully, get back in time to spend some quality time with my sewing machine.  I need to write four reviews (I’m behind there, too) but I’ve got three fun books  and an app to tell you about.  Also, I may “need” to stop and see if I can find a little more light fabric…turns out I have a whole lot less light in my strips/scraps and strings than I thought! No, really, I’m not making excuses here.  Well, ok I did say I wouldn’t buy anything else for this one so how’s this…I’m going to take all my lights and cut one strip from each and see how far that gets me with my strings.  Actually, that sounds like fun…fondling all those mini bolts.  Hmmm, maybe I’ll go to Costco later….the sewing room is calling!

Happy quilting!

Beth

Leave a Reply

